The Evaporation of Sofi Snow ~ Review

Hey guys! Um, long time no see, eh?? Uhahahahaha. Ha. Yeah.

AAAAAAANYWAYS.

Hello. πŸ˜‰

So, today I’m reviewing a much anticipated read for many peoples (but only if you’re of this Earth): The Evaporation of Sofi Snow (the first in the series of its namesake) by Miss Mary Weber.

Please do enjoy!


32969235
CLICK ME!

What I liked:

THAT COVER. Goodness, tho!!!! (See, look at me! I’m acting like a real blogger now – not spelling words correctly! πŸ˜‰ ) It’s just absolutely gorgeous! And you can’t tell from the picture (at least – I hope that you can’t), but the jacket AND the actually book is textured! I was reading this (without the jacket, of course) at my youth group, and everyone wanted to feel it. πŸ˜› (Of course, I bite off their fingers. How dare they touch my book.)

Anyways. So, I’ll admit, this wasn’t my favorite book. However, there were some pros, IMO (lookit!).

The whole concept, if a little familiar, was pretty cool. And hey, a hacker!!! and codes!!! and all that geeky stuff!!!! And Claudius is a total flirt!!

Characters:

Hmm. I honestly thought that, going by Mary Weber’s previous series (the Storm Siren trilogy), that I would love Miguel, and hate Sofi. Weeeeeell, it was more of the opposite. I had an EXTREMELY difficult time with Miguel, and Sofi bothered me. But into the how.

Miguel is very much a “people person” and that kind of jerk that you hate (think the Capitol people from Hunger Games). And then, half-way through the book, we’re expected to think that he’s all great and dandy?? That it’s all an act??? Like what??? BUT. Miguel is Hispanic, and occasionally lapses into Spanish. Now, Spanish and Portuguese are very similar – so similar that you can only learn one or the other, methinks – and since I know a small helping of Portuguese I was able to understand mostly all of it! *high fives self* (Yeah, guys, I’m kinda pathetic… πŸ˜‰ )

And Sofi. I found her pretty annoying, though better then Nym, IMO. She’s kinda cool ’cause she’s a hacker and she loves her brother. ❀ (I don’t know how, honestly. Brothers. Ugh.) But then she’s all head-over-heels for Miguel. Um, no. Girl, you get yourself someone better.

I DID like Claudius. He’s Miguel’s best friend and flirts with everyone (even especially Miguel’s AI) and I just loved him. Sure, he could be a bit annoying, but come on. ❀

Other than that, no one really worth mentioning. Characters were brought in to basically just move the plot along.

Writing/Plot:

The writing is much the same. I don’t love it or hate it, ya know? But it was kinda nice to see Mary Weber write in the 3rd (I love reading different books by the same authors with different narration styles).

The plot was, eh, predictable. The beginning felt a whole lot like a sci-fi Catching Fire to me, and the rest of the book I saw coming from chapters away (though since the chapters were pretty short, I guess that that statement seems pretty general). The major plot twists at the end were also ones that I had predicted. :/

Though! Though! The chapters alternate Sofi-Miguel-Sofi-Miguel-etc., so that means that there were relatively short chapters! Yay!

Problems:

Hmm. The book was highly predictable (at least – to me) and felt largely borrowed from many different things. I also didn’t connect to any of the characters at all, along with not getting into the book, you know what I mean?

But I feel like for those last two things, that was because we were instantly put into action (like BAM, BAM, BAM), and there really wasn’t any room left in the book for character development, or even just getting to know them. I found that I didn’t even care if Shilo died or not (come on, guys, it’s in the synopsis). I mean, who evenΒ was Shilo?? I dunno. He wasn’t in the book!!

Also, we missed out a lot because it felt like you should already know something about the world, almost as if this was the second book. And as is Mary Weber’s style (at least, to me), we get tidbits of info all throughout the book, when you should be told straight away or should have been introduced in the beginning as world building (this is all done to build up suspense … but it really didn’t work).

I also TOTALLY didn’t ship Sofi and Miguel. (Then again – do I ship anyone???) Sofi hates Miguel, except, she LOVES him. And vice versa. It was just SO annoying. Because they kept saying “Sofi’s innocent love” or “back when she was innocent” and etc. And I just didn’t like them together (not that I loved them alone, either).

And … I don’t know, guys. I just felt like this book missed it BIG TIME for me. With only a few adjustments, I could’ve been into the book, and might’ve even liked it … but no. :/

Oh! Something else that bothered me, were the substitutes for language. It was very obvious that instead of god, they used gad. Cripe instead of crap. Heck instead of hell. Etc. But it wasn’t even in a “clean” way, just annoying. But yet, words like piss and sex were thrown all around. *shrugs* I don’t even know, guys.

Other/Summary:

So, guys, I just didn’t really get into this. I had quite a few problems with it (see above). If there were only a few things fixed, I might have liked it. I probably won’t continue on with the series. 😦

Also, I might mention that there is a big cliff-hanger (supposedly. It really didn’t bother me.).

There’s kissing, and mentions of people sleeping with one another. And TONS of angst and attraction. *rolls eyes* Not really any language, except there were “substitute” words. Explosions. Etc.

Yeah, this really wasn’t the book for me. But, then again, I wasn’t totally fond (or at all, really) of Miss Weber’s previous trilogy … so who knows. If this book interests you, then GO FOR IT.

⭐ ⭐


Thanks, BookLook Bloggers, for this book! I may not have loved it … but still, thanks!! All opinions are my own, etc., etc.


Hey everyone!!! So how’s it been??? It’s been a while since I posted, huh?? Let me know what’s going on with you in the comments down below! And now, I will leave you with one of my wise sayings: “You don’t know difficulty until you have tried to put on skinny jeans after a shower.” πŸ˜‰ Bye!

3 thoughts on “The Evaporation of Sofi Snow ~ Review

Add yours

  1. Urgh, I hate books that are just so unoriginal, which is what this book sounds like. I’ve never even heard of it!
    It’s been too long, how has you been??
    Simi

    Like

    1. I know!!!
      Yes, that it has. Umm. Hey – I got my cartilage pierced a while ago! That was exciting. Don’t remember if I said that before…
      But anyways. Um, good, I guess?? How ’bout you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh that sounds so cool!! I only have my earlobe pierced and I barely ever wear earrings… πŸ˜‰ that’s good to hear, I’m well as can be with exams and all, but otherwise good πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

