The Ocean at the End of the Lane ~ MINI REVIEW

15783514Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and her mother and grandmother. He hasn’t thought of Lettie in decades, and yet as he sits by the pond (a pond that she’d claimed was an ocean) behind the ramshackle old farmhouse, the unremembered past comes flooding back. And it is a past too strange, too frightening, too dangerous to have happened to anyone, let alone a small boy.

Forty years earlier, a man committed suicide in a stolen car at this farm at the end of the road. Like a fuse on a firework, his death lit a touchpaper and resonated in unimaginable ways. The darkness was unleashed, something scary and thoroughly incomprehensible to a little boy. And Lettie—magical, comforting, wise beyond her years—promised to protect him, no matter what.

A groundbreaking work from a master, The Ocean at the End of the Lane is told with a rare understanding of all that makes us human, and shows the power of stories to reveal and shelter us from the darkness inside and out. It is a stirring, terrifying, and elegiac fable as delicate as a butterfly’s wing and as menacing as a knife in the dark.

AMAZON

GOODREADS

AUTHOR’S SITE


What I liked:

This book … um, I don’t really know how to summarize this. A kid from my youth group suggested this author to me because he loved it. His favorite part about Neil Gaiman’s writing is that it makes you visualize, not have all the description spoon-fed to you.

So that was kind of cool, because you needed to have an imagination to it.

There was some magic that … really made your brain twist around, and it was super cool.

Also, the cover is gorgeous, amirite??

Characters:

I never really connected to any of the characters.

Narrator is seven, and the most that I connected with – mostly because he was definitely still a child in a non-annoying way, and definitely only thought of himself.

Other than that, none of the characters were really developed IMO, and I didn’t come to like any of them.

Writing/Plot:

The writing was actually quite good, and I can see why people love Neil Gaiman writing … but it just wasn’t for me.

I felt like the plot … was nonexistent. Too short.

Problems:

I just felt like there wasn’t any … plot to it. It was kind of abstract. The book, in my opinion, was way too short. I didn’t really care for many of the characters – if any of them.

Other/Summary:

Ursla Monkton does … have an affair with Narrator’s dad. Everything that is seen is from a seven year old’s point of view, but it was still, you know, there.

There may have been some language, I’m not quite sure. Nothing too major.

Definitely tons of magic.

So, while it may seem that I hated this book, I DIDN’T. It was quite good … just not for me. I’d definitely recommend this book to y’all out there, it was a pretty good mature children’s book. ❤

⭐ ⭐

4 thoughts on “The Ocean at the End of the Lane ~ MINI REVIEW

Add yours

  1. Somehow I’ve never read Neil Gaiman, but I do have Stardust waiting to be read on my kindle, and I have seen the film which I liked.
    I’ve seen this book around once or twice and thought the cover was GORGEOUS, but the storyline didn’t really draw me in. Maybe I’ll check out some of his other children’s books 🙂
    Simi

    Like

    1. This was my first Neil Gaiman book. I’m reading another of his right now – The Graveyard Book – and I love/hate his books.
      I haven’t heard of Stardust, but it looks cool! I didn’t even know that it was a movie! (Which I guess goes with the territory of not knowing the book… 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

