Deliver by Tricia Mingerink ~ Review :'(

Guys. I think that you remember the books that I reviewed: The Blades of Acktar (Dare, Deny, Defy, Destroy)? Well TODAY is the release day of the final book: Deliver by Tricia Mingerink! Guys, I’m soooo sad.

But in honor of that, I’m writing a review for that today! Yay! I hope that y’all enjoy!


34791322Can something broken ever heal?

Martyn is broken. After torturing his best friend, he doesn’t belong anywhere in Acktar. No matter how far he runs, he can’t lose his guilt.

Leith is broken. While healing from the torture he received at Nalgar Castle, he struggles to find his new role. But can a Blade ever run from his past?

The country is broken. Bitterness divides town against town, neighbor against neighbor. What will it take to deliver Acktar from itself?

They face their hardest battle yet.
Peace.

Links and Stuff:

Goodreads

Amazon

Author’s Website

P.S. It releases today!!!


dsc09446About the Author

Tricia Mingerink is a twenty-something, book-loving, horse-riding country girl. She lives in Michigan with her family and their pack of pets. When she isn’t writing, she can be found pursuing backwoods adventures across the country.

You can connect with her on Facebook, Pinterest, Goodreads, Twitter, Instagram, and her blog

(Please go and give her some love – she’s been feeling kind of sick!!! πŸ™‚ )


What I liked:

Guys, there are not enough tears. Like, at all. πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ ❀ ❀ (Sorry ’bout that.)

f805e0a56283876ecbdc1d8857bd908aThis is the last in the series, and it was an amazing ending. Everything was wrapped up nicely. Deliver was definitely an after-war book, but there was still enough action!! And, guys, I’m going to … ahem … admit this, but I ALMOST teared up. Like, guys, I can’t even.

And just how everything was wrapped up, it was very realistic and beautiful. A wonderful conclusion to The Blades of Acktar! And I promise that it will make you cry! Unless you don’t. Then I can’t promise you that. But you proooobably will. AGAIN, unless you don’t… However…

Sorry. Just, um, yeah. Ignore that. Completely.

Characters:

This was definitely “Martyn’s book,” which I think that Tricia (obviously) planned it that way. He has a super amount of development … which was just so lovely to see. ❀ I just ADORE Martyn, and he’s SO similar to me! He likes to think through stuff and is very logical … but hates his emotions.

Unfortunately, I didn’t feel like there wasn’t a whole lot of Leith – in comparison with the other books at least (but let’s face it – will the iyfdnyhfangirls every be satisfied with the amount of Leith that we get? Yeah; probably not.). But with what he was in … I am a loyal fangirl, so I thought that he was just amazing and adorable!

Renna… For some reason, I didn’t like her as much in this book. Maybe because she didn’t have a whole lot of development, or she was shaded by Leith and Martyn, but that didn’t mean that I didn’t like her. She was super kick-butt and all. But still realistic. Thumbs up, for that!

Kayleigh was a new character … and while she was a good one, I found that the only reason I liked her was because of Martyn (maybe because she wasn’t introduced until book 4? Okay, she was technically introduced before then, as well. But whatever, you know?). 😦

Unfortunately, Brandi, Jamie, and Shad were a little left behind (in my opinion). I would have loved to see them more, but when they were in it, they were AMAZING.

Writing/Plot:

giphyAs always, I love Tricia’s writing! ❀ It’s nice and simple, but beautiful at the same time. Visual and yet, leaving a lot to the imagination. Contradictions, huh?

The plot moved along nicely. It was mainly Martyn-focused, but Martyn is pretty awesome … so I didn’t mind. Okay, scratch that. He’s really awesome. Like, yeah. Yeah. This book is a wrap-up book (like I said above), but (as I also said above) there’s also still some action.

Problems:

I feel like a lot of characters kinda got thrown under the rug. I know, IΒ know. But maybe it’s just me. I’m a selfish reader and want Tricia to write a 1,000+ paged tome in less then a month … but hey, the readers are always right, right?

I felt like Martyn’s conversion and relationship with Kayleigh could’ve gone a little slower (basically a couple different plots).

Other/Summary:

Nobody actually curses, but rather said “he swore choice words” or something like that, so you’re cool in those regards. πŸ˜‰

As for the … romance department ( πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ ), there’s a decent helping of kissing and attraction … but all definitely PG.

There’s battling and wounds and stuff … but again, Β I don’t feel like THIS book is above a PG.

It has STRONG Christian themes, so if that’s not your thing, then this may not be the book for you.

giphy-2Anyways, I’d DEFINITELY suggest this series to all of you who would like to read a Christian fantasy book (non-magic, almost Western). Maybe teens and up? The earlier books have a lot of wounds and stuff.

And-

SQUIRREL!!!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


Here are some other peoples’ posts about Deliver (two of them are reviews for the previous books…), and you don’t know what they’re about! So haahahahahahahahhagajhglshd! Ahem.

One | Two | Three | FourΒ | FiveΒ | SixΒ | Seven

Also, there’s a Facebook party going on (that I can, sadly, not attend since I do not have Facebook. However, my sister does, soooo…. >:D ), that you can find HERE. I’m sure it’ll be fun!


GUYS. It’s over. I’m just … SO SAD. Gah. πŸ˜₯ Anyways. Have you read these books – or do you want to? What are YOUR favorite series finales?? (Hopefully where your favorite character died a nasty traumatic death … sorry! Ahem.) Anyways, talk to ya in the comments below!

8 thoughts on “Deliver by Tricia Mingerink ~ Review :'(

  1. SQUIRREL.
    Yep, you’ve sold this series to me. I’m gonna read it. (Although maybe not for awhile because I have so many books on my TBR that are threatening me so I’ll have to read those first, but I will read it. I WILL.)
    Simi πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Looooved this book!! πŸ™‚ And yeah, sad the series is over, but I have a feeling this will be a series I’ll re-read every year, I’m still that much in love with it. πŸ™‚ Great review!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

