Stalking Jack the Ripper ~ Review

Ha! See, guys, I’m posting today! Told ya I could do it!

Now, this post may get a bit … scatterbrained because I’m watching a movie while writing this, but whatever.

Anyways. Today I’m writing a book review on Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco.


28962906Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1

button-amazon


What I liked:

brqacjhtofbqmFirst of all, can you all just look at that cover? It’s gorgeous! I just ADORE that dress!! πŸ™‚

Okay. So, yeah. This isn’t my normal genre, but this year I’m really stepping out … though sorta not really on purpose. But anyways. I saw that Sasha @ABookUtopia loved this book, and while I was wondering around our library (it had just been remodeled), I saw this on the New Shelf, so I just picked it up.

And boy, was I glad that I did.

So, in case you didn’t know, this is a retelling of the famous Jack the Ripper. I just find him (or … her) so interesting, because it’s, obviously, unsolved. But also that there really isn’t a reason for Jack to be SO famous. He killed maybe five women. Yeah, in disturbing ways. But not the worst.

Anyways. Let’s get on with the review.

Audrey Rose is … definitely a feminist. She’s not going to just step aside to let a man do a job that a woman could do perfectly well. Buuut, she also excepts authority and likes to wear pretty clothes and stuff. So she’s on that balance that I just love.

Also, this book has pictures, which is SO cool. The first page is a picture of a surgery (not gory or anything), and you also have pictures of stuff from the real Jack the Ripper. Or, at least, from the investigation

Kerri (the author) just wove stuff in in such a cool way. And you had some plot twists that were just brilliant (though I DID figure it out, obviously). But Kerri’s writing and twists actually kept me guessing and trying to think through everything. And the fact that it’s all unsolved … ugh!!! πŸ˜€

And need I mention that opening scene to the book? Fantastic!

Characters:

As I already said, Audrey Rose was cool. She was a nice mixture between being feminine and being a feminist.

previewThomas, um, well. Ahhh. I both liked and disliked him. He was the type of character that I like (sarcastic and haughty and a know-it-all), but I was a little annoyed that Audrey Rose just fell for him. He would say something that would make you blush and say, “Thomas, howΒ dare you,” before you remember that you said the exact same thing the night before.

All the other characters – though not in it much – were all each beautiful and complex and each their own. It was just … *sigh* gorgeous and refreshing.

Writing/Plot:

As I’ve already said, Kerri Maniscalco’s writing is absolutely beautiful and complex. You’re always trying to figure everything out before Audrey Rose and the others do.

The plot was full of twists and turns that didn’t get boring in the slightest. Sure, I guessed most of them, but it was still great. Just brilliant. πŸ™‚

Problems:

I really didn’t have many problems with this book. Maybe that the ending felt rushed, or that Audrey Rose just … rushed into love. But, you know, it wasn’t too overwhelming with mistakes.

Other/Summary:

Some things to mention:

Romance department: Kissing, some suggestive stuff, Thomas makes quite a few jokes that are … less than decent for the time period. Some of the ways that Jack kills the woman are … less than less than decent.

Gore and violence: This is a famous murderer retelling, so, of course, you know… Woman get attacked and are brutally murdered, but it usually doesn’t get too descriptive. Audrey Rose also is wanting to study forensic medicine, so that can get quite … yeah. There was only one scene at the end that made me queasy.

Other: I don’t think that there was much language. Maybe a few uses of h**l and d**n and the like, but obviously not enough that I remember.

I’d DEFINITELY recommend this to those who don’t have a weak stomach, and loves historical fiction (especially about unsolved murders). πŸ™‚

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


curiousgeorgeYeah, guys, I WAS watching Curious George while writing this review … so what. And no, I wasn’t crying … exactly. πŸ˜₯ Have any of you found an … interest in Jack the Ripper? Have you read this book? I MUST KNOW ALL.

2 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper ~ Review

  1. I feel like the name Jack the Ripper rings a bell, but I’ve never actually known who he is. This book looks really cool because I love murder mystery/thrillery books. I’ll check it out πŸ˜‰
    Simi

    Like

Leave a Reply

