Holes ~ A MG Book Review

Ha, it feels good to be back to writing reviews, my bookish friends.

Anyways, here’s the Middle Grade contemporary book. It’s a standalone called Holes by Louis Sachar.


38709Stanley Yelnats is under a curse. A curse that began with his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather and has since followed generations of Yelnatses. Now Stanley has been unjustly sent to a boys’ detention center, Camp Green Lake, where the boys build character by spending all day, every day digging holes exactly five feet wide and five feet deep. There is no lake at Camp Green Lake. But there are an awful lot of holes.

It doesn’t take long for Stanley to realize there’s more than character improvement going on at Camp Green Lake. The boys are digging holes because the warden is looking for something. But what could be buried under a dried-up lake? Stanley tries to dig up the truth in this inventive and darkly humorous tale of crime and punishment—and redemption.


What I liked:

I had watched the movie when Jess and one of our little brothers were all home all. We made hot chocolate and scrolled through Netflix for FOREVER, before Jess or I said to watch Holes (I don’t remember who it was … but it was me), since we had both heard of it.

Jessica and I both thought that it was pretty good, but Trevor didn’t.

Yeah, we watched the movie before the book.

But, I guess, in my defense, I didn’t actually know that there was a book until the very end of the movie or tumblr_m9bhk3r8ja1qmxmrao1_500something (I think).

Anyways, I really liked this because … I don’t know. It was just a fun MG children’s book.

I listened to the audiobook version of Holes, and I rather liked the narrator because he sounded SO MUCH like Shia LeBeouf (Stanley’s actor), which I thought that that was pretty cool.

Though it was confusing at first, I liked that Mr. Sachar jumped back in time (and forwards again) so that you knew what was going on, and you got a little bit of the history that everything was referenced back to.

Characters:

I felt almost … indifferent towards Stanley. I probably would’ve liked him EVEN LESS if I hadn’t watched the movie (sorry, but I’ll be comparing the two a lot).

I liked all the boys in the D-Cabin (Stanley’s cabin). You had ZigZag and Twitch and Zero and so on and so forth. While they were all very gruff, they all had a sort of friendship, which was kinda cool.

Each boy/worker had their own personality, but were not very overwhelming, which was nice.

Writing/Plot:

The writing was just … ordinary, or even a little less so, for me. The plot, also, moved along very slowly. And at the beginning, the plot was barely even recognizable.

Everything was SO SLOWLY paced, that I felt like I was reading molasses. But, you know, it was pretty well paced for the book, I guess.

Problems:

6m8la_s-200x150While I liked the narrator (again, the whole audiobook situation), I didn’t like some of the voices that he assigned to characters such as Zero. It probably didn’t help that I watched the movie first…

It was a very slow paced book. Nothing much happened, and when something did, it was kept at a very mild pace. A very, very mild pace.

Other/Summary:

So, in summary, this was a very nice, slow MG book.

There were some deaths – death-by-poisonous-lizards, I think that there was a gunshot, stuff like that. There’s a lady who’s a magician, kind of. I’m really blanking out on the word. A seer, maybe.

200
This gif is the BEST.

I (as I’ve said) have watched the movie, and the two are nearly the same (yay authors writing the screenplay!), and I thought that the movie was a little bit better … since it didn’t move as slowly.

If you like a fun and slow-paced MG book, than I’d definitely say to go for and read this!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐


Yep, guys, that was it. A very, very short review. I was debating between reviewing this, Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock, and Stalking Jack the Ripper. Holes won out. Anyways. I hope that you like this short review! And, yes, guys, the countdown for Beauty and Beast is quickly receeding! Guys, I’m SO ecstatic. Like, so, so, ecstatic. Hehehehehehhahahahahahahhahahaha. Ahem. Please comment down below on anything, I’d love to chat with you down there! (Yes, this little … ending text … was nearly as long as the review. 😛 )

4 thoughts on “Holes ~ A MG Book Review

Add yours

  1. I’m reading Holes soon!! As you know, I have 0% patience, especially with books, so I hope this isn’t too slow for my liking. And I loved the film as well!! Fingers crossed.
    Simi

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

