I accidentally hated a book ~ Review

So I technically didn’t HATE this book … it just made it sound more dramatic. 😉 And I had to get you to read it somehow, right???

Anyways. Today I’m reviewing the first book in the Unwind Dystology, which is Unwind. This is all written by Neal Shusterman.

BTW, I’m writing this at, like, 1 something and I’m not a night person (I just proved my point by leaving person as just “person” without the night … oops).

Enjoy!


764347Connor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state, is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.


What I thought:

I had heard a decent bit about this book … and everyone had loved this.

So, of course, I was just cruising (for a bruisin’ … my kinda music XD ) the library, and decided to pick this up before a trip. The book. Not the song, unfortunately.

Well … I must say that I was disappointed tremendously. I was expecting a real eye-opener – especially with the big recent topic of abortion (which this is basically that … but for ALL kids under 18).

I found it rather disappointing.

Characters:

I can tell you with 100% certainty that I didn’t like ANY of the characters. Like, at all. I found the three MCs (Lev, Connor, & Risa) to be sometimes insanely clever, and then at others, incredibly naive. It was almost unbearable.

Lev is a tithe, so he’s basically the tenth set aside for God. Yes, he’s a tenth child. So his whole “purpose” in life is to be unwound. I initially liked him because he had come to means with that, and was against certain things that happened (sorry, I was getting close to spoiler territory), but he had a very quick personality change.

Risa was the worst, in my opinion. She’s a ward of the state and, therefore, unwanted. And she tries to be all tough and everything … but it just rubbed me the wrong way.

Connor was all ehhh for me. He was okay at some points, and at others, just so hard for me to read about, especially from his POV.

a5830ab3f67ca0ecb49b2007454ad95cAnd there were just so. many. freaking. point. of. views. (Yes, that was very hard for me to not capitalize.) Most of the “narrators” didn’t even have names, and weren’t super related to the plot. At all.

Writing/Plot:

The writing was fine, though a bit dense for my taste. I found it hard to enjoy, and I spent a decent bit yawning; dreading having to pick up the book to read it. But, again, that’s just my taste – or opinion.

The plot was the single best thing about this book. (It actually got an extra star for this little point.)

The subject that it tackles is just so … phenomenal to think. It’s very thought-provoking, and I loved how it just dealt with some tough moral issues. There were a few points where I felt nearly sickened (though not quite).

(Spoilers below; highlight to see more clearly:)
The best part, in my opinion, was when Roland got unwound. It was the most disturbing part of the book, and sort of wished that the whole book had been written like that. But I also, admittingly, found it quite fascinating and really wished to find out more. But, alas, no.

Another scene was when the baby was being passed around in Connor’s neighborhood. It was quite jarring. Finally, the whole spooky story about the guy hunting down kids with his son’s parts. Creepy. Those are what I was wanting from this book.

Problems:

I think that I’ve already stated my problems with this book, but just in case you skipped right down to here, I’ll list them.

matt-smith-cute-gifs-10282014-06The characters were very fluid and unpredictable, not very true to their character. They also bored me to death. And there were just. so. many. of. them. (Yep. Still hard.)

The writing is very dense, and it had a hard time capturing my attention. It was an extremely slow-paced book.

This book was suppose to be an eye-opener, but instead I got a bunch of kids running from the governor.

Other/Summary:

In summary, this book promised me a disturbing take on the loss of young life, but instead I got a type of book that I can’t stand: kids vs. government.

And I hate to say it, but I really am not motivated at all to pick up the next book, or any of the following in the series.

Some things to look out for:

  • Kissing (I think); a guy being very forward with Risa.
  • Some inappropriate jokes may have been thrown about.
  • I think that there was some use of the “basic” language: d***, h***, god, etc.
  • Terrorists (though more talk of it than action).tumblr_inline_o54ncctyzn1rku3fs_540
  • Violence/death in quite a number of ways.
  • The obvious fact that kids are being cut apart and sold. It is quite a grotesque image.
  • Some different freaky scenes … not that I was spooked or anything.

And the like.

While I, personally, didn’t like this book, many others have loved this. A lot. A lot a lot. So if you think that you can handled the whole issues that this book deals with, then I guess go for it. (But be sure that you’re mid- or upper-teenagers, please.)

⭐ ⭐

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


Hey guys! So have you had any books be a total bummer after bunch of hype from friends (on the internet because you’re too lame to make “real” friends, you’re just as happy without them. Who needs them. #StayLonelyForever Ahem.)??? What’s ANY topic that you’d like a book to be about?? I’d love one to be about something draconian. I dunno. Also, did you like this book? Hate it? Comment below  with your thoughts! See ya!

4 thoughts on “I accidentally hated a book ~ Review

  1. Who needs real friends, sheesh. What even are they?
    I haven’t read many books about modern problems around the world, but I do have strong opinions so maybe I should just write my own book on them? Good plan.
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

