The Martian ~ Review (FINALLY)

Haha, I have FINALLY done it! The review for Andy Weir’s The Martian is finally up! Thanks, Simi, for the “gentle” reminder…

Sorry for skipping my post last week! Our electricity was out, and by the time I had time to do it, it was already Thursday and too late… I hope that you guys don’t mind! 😀

(P.S. Sorry … but no gifs today!)


18007564

A mission to Mars.
A freak accident.
One man’s struggle to survive.

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’ surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark’s not ready to quit. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity and his engineering skills—and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength–he embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive, using his botany expertise to grow food and even hatching a mad plan to contact NASA back on Earth.

As he overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next, Mark begins to let himself believe he might make it off the planet alive.

But Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.


What I thought:

My mom had watched this movie on a plane and thought that I’d like it. Of course I wanted to read the book first (which I had already wanted to read and it just pushed me further). The problem was, it was kinda popular. Which I HATE to read popular books. But I thought that I’d give this a pass.

Oh, I am SOOOOO VERY GLAD that I read this! It’s chalk-full of science that is actually explained, and Mark is a very humorous fellow (especially considering that he’s the ONLY GUY ON MARS). There’s so many funny one-liners and it’s just very enjoyable.

But with the opening sentence of the book (I am f****d. Or something along those lines.) … it was very interesting. And that’s basically the whole book. But overlooking that, it was quite great.

And when you start reading, the book is written in logs that Mark writes. But what was odd, is that there’s multiple logs to a chapter. It makes sense a little later when you have some different view points from NASA and the HEREMES crew.

Characters:

Ah. Mark. Now, he ain’t no role model, but he’s just SO funny! He does a TON of bad language (I DO gave him a SMALL pass since he’s the only guy on a planet), and he is quite the narrator.

And then you have the crew. They’re all just so cool. They’re definitely a family, considering that they’ve spent years together (space AND training) and they’re all just so different. I think that Vogel and Beck were my favorites. But Commander Lewis, Martinez, and Johannssen were all great in their own rights.

And while I liked all the NASA people, I didn’t exactly LOVE them. Do you understand? Well, except for Annie. I REALLY disliked her. A lot. A lot a lot.

Writing/Plot:

The writing was really witty, which I LOVED. And it really didn’t lag much. Well, there was one point where you’re just wishing for things to hurry up and get over with.

Problems:

There was … tons of language. And in a different context then when in, say, a fantasy book or something. There was use of s***, b******, b****, f****, and probably more. There we also tons of inappropriate jokes. Buuut they were funny. 😉

It DEFINITELY dragged on at bits, and I was quite confused when it’d go from Mark Watney to people at NASA without much warning.

Other/Summary:

Overall, I’d DEFINITELY recommend this book to all my fellow nerdy bookworms out there! With the language and jokes, though, I think that you have to be fine with that or to be an older teenager.

I’ve also watched the movie. And while it isn’t NEAR as good as the book, it’s still pretty good. 😀

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


Are any of you bookworms geeks or nerds out there? I’m a nerd leaning towards geek, and Jess is geek leaning towards nerd. I’d love to hear what you all are! Has anyone else read The Martian? Did you love it and are you begging Andy Weir to write another book?? Tell me all in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “The Martian ~ Review (FINALLY)

Add yours

  1. OH MY GOODNESS IT’S FINALLY HERE!! *applause* 😀
    I’ve seen the Martian film and, though I’m not that into sci-fi, actually enjoyed it so I’ll maybe possibly consider reading this 😉
    NO GIFs WHAT HAS THIS WORLD COME TO.
    I don’t really class myself as a geek or a nerd because I feel like even in themselves they’re pretty similar, and there are many subcategories in each. Buut I think I’m more of a nerd if I had to choose.
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

