A Shadow Bright and Burning ~ Book Review

Hey guys! Wow. It’s been FOR.EV.ER. since I’ve last written a review. Oh well. I shall try, nonetheless to make this worth while. πŸ˜‰

Today I’m reviewing the book (with a LOVELY cover) by Jessica Cluess – A Shadow Bright and Burning (#1 in the Kingdom on Fire series).


23203252I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?


What I Liked:

So this was an … interesting book. Definitely a little different than I was expecting – more Harry Potter-ish vs London-ish. I dunno. I just saw the cover and magic and I was sucked in. πŸ˜‰ (Hey – we all have our problems!)

14cb9f71afacc724408c277e8337fa93So I liked the whole aspect of splitting up the whole magic system into Magician, Sorcerer, and Witch, instead of having one or the other or something. And I really enjoyed learning about the different magic systems and the Ancients (baaaasically, like, demons/monsters of sorts). Needless to say, I really liked Hargrove.

Which leads me into – Jenkins Hargrove. Oh gosh, he was probably my favorite. He’s this old(er) Magician guy (and mind you, Magicians are outlawed from using their gifts on punishment of death … I think) who has adopted, like, six or seven or ten kids and preforms street magic and is just basically awesome. Also, he spends some time drunk or being stupid and he’s just really unpleasant to be around, basically. πŸ˜›

Another thing that I loved was that when I first entered into the book, I was enthralled. Like, I read it so quickly (kind of like Marissa Meyer books – you read them quickly, but the time’s still somehow the same … do you understand me?) and didn’t want to put it down. That kind of wore off after awhile … but whatever. πŸ˜‰

Characters:

I’ve already said that I’ve quite enjoyed Jenkins Hargrove, so let’s move on, shall we?? Just kidding. πŸ˜‰

Miss Henrietta Howel. Huh. So when I first started the book I thought that she was awesome. She kind of wanted to preserve herself, vs you’re average heroine of being totally selfless. But when the time came, she did become quite brave. Buuuut I quickly disliked her. I’m not sure if I can quite say why….

I LOVED all of the guys! So, like, Henrietta is plopped into training in this mansion with six other guys plus one, and their all so unique (except for two of them … I definitely feel like their characters could’ve improved greatly), and I just wish that Henrietta would’ve seen them as friends vs a love interest(s?) and threats … sort of. Magnus – despite some of his obvious playboy flaws – was probably my favorite, with his cocky manner and all we would’ve become fast friends. I also greatly liked Blackwood. An INTJ/P maybe?? (I’m leaning towards the latter.)

Writing/Plot:

As I’ve already said (again), the writing quickly drew me in. It was just so … I don’t know. Intriguing. Enthralling. Something. But whatever it was, it was good. πŸ˜‰

5c332b5fa3d2bd075444d9b02f1ef9e2The plot sort of reminded me of Harry Potter. I mean, you have all the magic stuff, but just as I was reading it, it was really making me think of Harry Potter. *shrugs* I don’t know. Whatever.

Though something was cool was the Special Snowflake trope. Yes – it got tiresome at times, but it still does kick it in the nose (breaking it) at times. But then the nose magically fixed itself (which is actually quite possible considering that this is a magic book. Yes, don’t question my logic.).

Problems:

bb207c122c47b629eed2a4b846ca26a4Hmmm. Β It was really lagging towards the middle/end. The book was quite predictable at times. I disliked Henrietta. I couldn’t really find many characters to like. I kept thinking of Harry Potter (though maybe that’s just me). The books just had a very … boring feel to it, in a way.

Other/Summary:

Overall, I loved the idea of this book to pieces, but I just wasn’t quite satisfied in the way that it was carried out.

Some things that you should definitely look out for:

This is DEFINITELY a magic book. There is a “scene” during the book, though it doesn’t really go into much detail – thank goodness. Henrietta does curse using d**n and h**l and b*****d. People do use god in a few different ways. There’s deaths – not too descriptive.

If this book really strikes you’re fancy – then go for it! It wasn’t quite my book, but you may love it!

⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Three Stars


Thanks, Blogging for Books, for the review copy! I received this book for my honest opinion … blah, blah, blah.


So how’d you all like my review? Sorry that I missed last week’s post. But I really did miss writing a review. Anyways. Do you like magical books? If so – do you have any recs. for me? And finally, I FINALLY read The Hunger Games! I told my sis that I would before the the new year, and I did! I reaaaaly want to read Catching Fire (my favorite of the “trilogy” movies), but I have to wait and read my current book out from the library: The Fellowship of the Ring. Anyways. I’ll talk to you in the comments! Bye!!! XD

4 thoughts on “A Shadow Bright and Burning ~ Book Review

Add yours

  1. I feel like I read a lot of magic-y books but I can’t think of any off the top of my head. EXCEPT HARRY POTTER HAHA, POTTERHEAD FOREVER.
    Noooooooooooooooo, now I’m like the only person in the world who hasn’t read the Hunger Games. What if I’m put on trial for treason or something?? Although, to be fair, I HAVE seen the first film. That’s the only one I’ve seen though.
    …#teamPeeta ❀
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know!! I’ve read SO many, but I can’t think of them… OH, OH, GUESS WHAT??? RIGHT NOW I’M LISTENING TO THE AUDIOBOOK (duh) OF THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS.
      Haha, sorry. (I’m totally #teamPeeta as well.) But that was me, until I told Jess that I wanted to read them before the New Year and her threats started rolling in… πŸ˜‰
      But that was (and still is) me for Harry Potter. And among other things. *cough* The Book Thief *cough*

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Hehe, yeah. I know, I know.
          Ugh!!! My when my sister read the books (just after my mom and lil’ bro. read them aloud – so I’ve heard most of books #2, 4, & 7) my mom, brother, and sister really wanted to watch them and didn’t care if I hadn’t read them yet. So, yes, I have. 😦

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

