A Time to Rise ~ Book Review (Mostly Series-Spoiler Free)

Hello!!

Since I’m a lazy blogger (hahahaha, aren’t we all??), I’m just copy-and-pasting from my other blog a review of A Time to Rise by Nadine Brandes (the last book in the Out of Time Trilogy), so I probably should update the review … but eh.


27230665The blurb caries spoilers!!!!

What more can you sacrifice than your life?

Parvin Blackwater is dead.

At least…that’s what the Council—and the world—thinks. But her sacrifice tore down part of the Wall long enough to stir up hope and rebellion in the people. Now she will rise again. Strong, free, and fearless.

Parvin and Solomon must uncover the mysterious clues that Jude left behind in order to destroy the projected Wall once and for all. Meanwhile, the Council schemes to new levels of technology in its attempts to keep the people contained. Can a one-handed Radical and a scarred ex-Enforcer really bring shalom to the world?


What I thought:

Guys, I legitely finished this just now. Like, I closed the Kindle app on my phone and sat down at my computer.

Oh, how to put it into words!

IT’S OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And, may I say, Nadine is one of those authors who’s not afraid of killing characters (people … and animals) and BREAKING YOUR LITTLE NINJA HEART. But yet … this trilogy d75ffd404c49127fb6220132d6627afchas DEFINITELY marked Nadine as a favorite author of mine, and I’m sooooo excited for more of her books! (Like, I can hardly contain my excitement!!!)

The ending was AMAZING. Like, yeah. But OH MY GOODNESS, the trilogy is complete!!!
(Excuse me while I go and cry off in a corner while stroking my bookshelf. Yeah … I’m normal.) I just – I just can’t comprehend this. :’)

Characters:

My poor little Elm and Willow! Gosh darn-it, Nadine! Why?? WHY??? Seriously, though. I love these two! They’re just so sweet in their own little ways. But the poor little marshmallows (yes, I just said that)!!!! I can’t BELIEVE what they’ve been through!!!

And then we have Parvin. Yes, our heroine. She’s DEFINITELY had a lot of growth – spiritual, mental – and it was just so cool to see! And she was pretty sarcastic in this, so, yeah, awesomeness.

Solomon!

You get more of Tawny in this … which is pretty awesome. I was definitely very interested in her!!!

Writing/Plot:

Something I loved about this book was that I haven’t read the first two books since EARLY this year, and they DEFINITELY ended in cliff-hangers … but I had no trouble jumping right into this book (and getting my heart ripped out) – which was something that I was worried about.

And I really like Nadine’s writing (not sure if I’ve mentioned that before. … oh well)! It’s like a present first-person POV, which I like. But I also LOVE being in Parvin’s head so much, and she was SO ENTERTAINABLY SARCASTIC in this book. Yay.

90ab174a2a45a7a5fcaf2879bdb7a3f2Problems:

Umm…. OTHER THAN MY HEART BEING RIPPED IN TWO??? Oh yeah, nothing really. (Though I’m sure there’s SOMETHING.)

Other/Summary:

This book is definitely a Christian book. Like the second book, I feel that it wasn’t a preachy as the first, but still really God-themed. There’s tons of people who had loads of spiritual growth – which was awesome.

Yes, there are deaths. HOW COULD YOU TELL??!! There’s torture (though you don’t actually experience it … just hear the tales). People blow up and get shot. People get crushed and die of … whatever. OH THE TRAGICNESS. Seriously, though.

Nothing beyond some kisses on the cheek (❤ ).

So, I’d recommend this book to all of you Christian teens out there! Like my sister (yes, I’m still working on ya, Sis), you may not like dystopian. But don’t let that stop you! I didn’t really like dystopian when I first started this series (though I’m starting to like it more). It’s not as oppressive as a lot of main stream ones right now. So keep that in mind.4bb2414438dcd5261cde183d044d04a3And also, she’s working on another book at the moment (which you should totally read … not that I’m promoting it … okay, I totally am😉 ), so if dystopian isn’t your thing…

And if you read this trilogy, be prepared for some grievously difficult deaths.

4 Stars ****


What have been some of your favorite trilogies/series of the year? Heck, what have been your favorite BOOKS of the year?? Tell me in the comments below! (Plus, who’s excited for Rogue One? Nervous?? I am both!!!)

2 thoughts on “A Time to Rise ~ Book Review (Mostly Series-Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

