8 Books to Movies that I Actually Liked

So far, I’m keeping up with me reviewing a book every other week, and posting a bookish post in between. Yay me.

Anyways. Peoples. Today I am opening myself up to you and admitting my flaws (yes, I do actually have some). Please don’t kill me for it.


1. The Narnias

tumblr_inline_mq1710jqtx1qz4rgp
How right you are, Edmund. How right you are.

So I grew up with these movies. Me, my sister, and basically our only friend growing up (hey, we’ve always been introverts!) watched all the movies, read all the books, he had tons of toys and we had costumes. We did role-plays. Everything. It was my childhood. I was Lucy, Jess was Susan, our friend was Peter, and when Lil’ Bro occasionally played, he was Edmund. Needless to say, we were obsessed.

For the second two movies (Prince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader) we watched them in theaters. And read the books first, though I can’t say the same for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. And I have to admit, I love the movies just as much as the books. I think that it really helped that I read and watched them all at the same time.

And can we all flail at how NERVOUS WE ARE FOR THE NEW SILVER CHAIR MOVIE?!?! (Spoiler: I am.)


2. Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit

Haha … so … I didn’t read the books first. Well, I read The Hobbit first. And, well, I’ve only read The Fellowship of the Ring. *hides* Please don’t kill me.6aee49847a0138e4e1c45ecfd50de670

I’m one who loves fantasy (and sci-fi!) movies, along with epicness and battle scenes and
stuff. So LotR was AWESOME. I was SO EXCITED when Jess, Trev, and I were FINALLY allowed to watch these movies!!

Sam is my all-time favorite. I mean, how could you NOT love him?? (Plus: He’s Sean Astin, so…)

Though I DID read The Hobbit first. Well, audiobooked it twice, then again recently. Every year for Christmas when one of these came out Dad, Jess, Trev, and I would all go and watch it. It was awesome.


3. The Maze Runner

I must admit: I surprised myself by liking The Maze Runner trilogy. But I do. A lot. So for my b-day last year, we rented this (a week late, though. It was

tumblr_ndaiezdype1tbap20o1_500

a bad b-day, so we shan’t discuss it.), and I was uber nervous. I mean, I’d heard mixed things on both the books and the movies.

But I loved it just as much as the books! For all of the movie’s flaws … it definitely un-borified the book, which was AWESOME. (Also, need I mention Thomas Brodie-Sangster???)

Though I have not seen The Scorch Trials, so I’m super excited for that…


4. The Hunger Games

the-hunger-games-gifs-the-hunger-games-30195353-500-230
❤ ❤ ❤

Hehehe, sooooo. This is awkward, but I actually haven’t read the books. I know. I know. How could I, a loyal-to-the-gory-death bookworm, watch so many movies before the books?? Jessica, that’s what. She always reads the book first (except for Crooked Kingdom … hahahaha!!), so then she always REALLY wants to watch the movie. So if I want to watch the movie at all, I have to do so before the books. 😥

BUT. I did enjoy the movies. I remember when they first came out that I swore that I’d never read the books/watch the movies, and now look at me! Sis and I watched movies 2&3 while everyone else was (miraculously) gone. And let me say, even ice cream couldn’t solve #3’s ending…


5. Harry Potter

tumblr_l982rezrdd1qzcmp3o1_500Another one of these book series that I horriedly didn’t read before the movies. But this is the same scenario as book(s) #4.

Anyways, I’ve STILL ONLY READ the first HP book. Technically. But Mom and Trevor read aloud all seven books, so I’ve basically already heard all of the plots and everything.

I did love the movies, though. An excellent cast, if I may say so myself.


6. The Giver

2-440Hey! Hey! I actually read the book first!

I had read this book a few times and LOVED it. So when I saw that there was a movie, well…

Mom and I watched it, and I really enjoyed it! Okay, so it’s not as good as the book – the again, when is it ever? – but it’s still really good! I liked Brenton Thwaites as Jonas, though I was disappointed in the whole romance aspect. :/


7. Jurassic Park

Okay, like, I didn’t even know that this was a book. my1g6I’ve watched all four Jurassic movies, and I’ve loved them (mostly 1 and 4, though). People being stupid with dinosaurs? What could go wrong!

I have not read the book yet, but apparently BOTH of my libraries have it, so we’ll see….

(Yes, I do have two libraries! 😉 )


8. The Martian

191020-hell-yeah-im-a-botanist-fear-m-zqag
‘Scuse the language, please!

This movie’s, um, well. Yeah. The book was DEFINITELY better. Mom had watched this without reading the book (shame on her! Who would do such a thing??), and had loved it. I, honestly, don’t really care for Matt Damon, so that played into the effect.

Plus, I absolutely ADORED the book, and was hoping for something a little more … accurate. (Which reminds me, I still need to post my Martian review … someone remind me in the comments!)


So how ’bout you all?? Do any of you have any book-to-movie adaptations that you like? Or don’t for that matter? Do you agree with me at all?? Let me know in the comments below! (And someone really should remind me about that review…)

16 thoughts on “8 Books to Movies that I Actually Liked

Add yours

  1. I LOVE THIS LIST SO MUCH IT’S BASICALLY THE BEST LIST!! I 100% agree about Narnia, The Giver, The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and LOTR. ❤ I love all those movies all sooooo much. I mean, they're probably on par with the books (except THG because I'll always love those books best!) and I think they did such an excellent adaption work. And The Giver actually made me cry WHICH IS REALLY SAYING SOMETHING. I love the music too afjdskald such gloriousness. I still need to see the Harry Potter movies though. I'm so behind, hehe.🙈🙊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DON’T FORGOT TO WRITE/POST THE MARTIAN REVIEW.
    And can I just say YES, YES, YES, YES, YES, YES, YES and no because Matt Damon is my fave how dare you. But I haven’t read the book so we’re allowed to disagree 😉
    I also grew up watch Narnia, as well as Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, so don’t feel guilty because I also watched all of the films before reading the books! And Sam!! He’s like the little light in the dark, goriness of the films (which my mum thought would be ok for me and my siblings to watch when we were 4 or 5? Did you think the violence and gore meant nothing to me mum??) and I just love him.
    You love Thomas Sangster too?!! Oh my goodness yayyyyyyyy! He is the only reason I actually want to read the Maze Runner. Even though he’s not in the actual book? Meh. My mum’s getting the books for me for Christmas and I’m soooooo excited even though (classic Simi) I basically know the plot and spoilers (and deaths…) of each book because I read them up on wikia… I didn’t purposefully search for that, but when I ACCIDENTLY find the juicy plot twists I JUST CAN’T STOP AND I HATE IT WHYYYY I NEED THERAPY FOR MY SPOILER/SKIPPING AHEAD SYNDROME 😦
    Although I think that films are a great way to publicise books, because I’ve read a lot of books which I only found out about because of the films (e.g. Bridge to Terabithia, the Book Thief [which you still need to read… 😉 ], a Little Princess etc).
    Wow, lots to say on movie adaptations, am I right?
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okkaaaaay. Let me try to answer everything in your comment… 😛
      I’m (hopefully) finishing up The Martian review today!!
      That’s how I was with Narnia. (I wasn’t allowed to watch LotR ’til I was 8/9.) I watched Prince Caspian when I was six. Ummm, yeah. SAAAAAM.
      The only reason that I read The Maze Runner was because of Thomas Sangster, too!!! Jess laughed at me for that… 😉 But it’s true! And I was doing soooo well avoiding spoilers, but then my friend (who hadn’t even read the book!!!) told me about all of my little dear characters and their deaths. I WANTED TO MICROWAVE HER CAT AND SLASH HER TIRES WITH HER FACE. (No, I’m not violent. But that was a Studio C quote! 😉 ) And if you don’t like the first book, JUST STICK THROUGH IT. The first one is soooooo veeeeery booooring!!! And I admit that I read the Wikipedia pages for all of The Hunger Game books … Oops.
      And I got that hint towards The Book Thief. Don’t worry, I’m getting to it… Maybe. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for forewarning me about the Maze Runner – I’m a very impatient reader but I really really wanna read the series. And no, it’s totally not just because of Thomas Sangster how dare you… But yes, TRÈS EXCITED!! 😀
        Simi
        P.S. Haha, I also read the Hunger Games plot on wiki!! 😉
        P.P.S. Don’t forget to post the Martian review 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree. I really like the Narnia movies, even if they are different from the books. And the Lotr and Hobbit movies. I love the books, but I still enjoy the movies. And I actually liked the Giver movie better than the book. As for Hunger Games, I liked the first book better than the first movie, but the rest of the movies I liked better than the books… 😉

    Inkheart is another book made into a movie that I really liked. I watched the movie first and then read the book. The movie is quicker and has some changes, but I really like it.

    Like

  4. I totally agree on numbers 1,2,3,6, and 7! I’m trying not to judge you for reading the rest of the LOTR series, but TBH, I did the exact same thing and barely finished reading them this summer so…. :/ But if you loved the FOTR, you’ll LOVE the rest of the series! XD I definitely love the Maze Runner series (and 1st movie), but just a heads up, don’t set high standards for The Scorch Trials cause the movie was horrible!!! Just thinking about how they botched it makes me so mad! Even my parents (who have never read the books) said they lost interest in the movie about half way through… -_- But then again, you may like it, so at least watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

