The Dressmaker’s Secret – Kellyn Roth

Hey everyone!

So … WordPress was being awful, and I had this post all written and scheduled and stuff, then come Wed., THERE’S NO POST. Like, WHAT?! As if that isn’t bad enough, it deleted my post – “draft” – to just the cover and synopsis. *dies*

Enough complaining from me, though!

Today Yesterday I wrote a review on a book by fellow blogger Kellyn Roth. It is the first in her series The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy, and the actual book is The Dressmaker’s Secret (duh!).


28576266London, England, 1870

It comes to the attention of curious eight-year-old Alice Chattoway that her father is seemingly nonexistent. After realizing that his absence is making her mother unhappy, Alice becomes determined to find him and pull her family together. But Miss Chattoway’s answers to her daughter’s questions are vague at best and Alice begins to wonder if she will ever discover her mother’s secret.


What I thought:

This was the first time that I’d read a book by Kellyn, well, at the exact. same. time. that I read this book, I was also beta-ing Kellyn’s other book (which comes out in Sep.). But I was impressed.

I was also slightly nervous since this book is mainly narrated by an eight year old. Well, while Alice was a little mature for her age, I was also impressed by how Kellyn portrayed her.

Characters:

While at times, Alice was a bit annoying, but for the most part I really liked her.

Ivy wasn’t in it all that much, which was a little unfortunate. She’s considered “slow,” but I’m honestly really excited for her book (which is the 2nd book), and she’s sooo sweet in the little that she’s in.

Ahh, poor, poor, poor Claire! She’s just … uhh. I just feel really badly for her.

Writing/Plot:

Admittingly, it took me a decent while to get use to the writing. Kellyn writes in an ominous 3rd person, and that just … yeah. (But don’t let that be a turn off for you! It’s just a personal thing.)

Also, I figured out the main mystery pretty early on. Now, I’m not sure if it’s just because I’m Sherlock Holmes (who people always think is a guy, but is actually a girl – me), or what. But, yeah.

Problems:

Alice was a tad bit mature for her age.

I took a while to get use to the writing.

I figured out the plot pretty quickly.

Maybe about 60%-70% in, it changed to a 1st person narration by someone that we had yet to know of, and it kinda confused me ’til the very last bit of that narration.

As I feel with most all historical romances, this had a mightily convenient ending.

Other/Summary:

So overall, I actually had a pretty good experience with this book!

There is some romance: kissing and such (I think…), most all people think that the twins are born out of wedlock, just a little bit of stuff like that.

Violence: Well, there is someone who is quite injured, though it doesn’t go into too much description.

So, for all of you who like historical romances, go for this book! It’s quite good!

3.5 stars ∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1button-amazon


Do you guys like historicals? Who agrees with me on I being Sherlock Holmes? What’s your favorite candy? Let me know the answers to these life-or-death questions. See y’all in the comments!

6 thoughts on “The Dressmaker’s Secret – Kellyn Roth

Add yours

  1. I laughed at your Sherlock comment.😂 History DEFINITELY got it wrong and it is you *nods* Totally legit. I’m not usually the biggest fan of MG because I tend to find it hard to remember what it was like to be young? Like 8??? OMG SO LONG AGO. *collapses trying to remember yesterday*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

