Can You Simultaneously Love and Hate a Book?

Sorry everyone, but this is gonna be a long review! (Feel free to skip parts!) I have some EXTREMELY mixed views about this book, so I tried to shorten it….

Anyways, yes, hello! Today I’m going to do the ginormous review on Uprooted by Naomi Novik.

22544764


“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travelers passing through. They talk as though we were doing human sacrifice, and he were a real dragon. Of course that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.


What I thought:

So, I’d heard a lot about this book, meaning: my sister had seen it and pointed it out at the bookstore earlier this year. I liked the cover, and just recently didn’t have a book, so I got it from the library.

Well.

Well. It was much different from what I thought, but yet, quite what I was expecting. (I simply must be known as Miss Contradiction.)

This is very much so a magic book (so if this isn’t for you, still read this review, just because obviously: me!), and I rather enjoyed that.

Characters:

Agnesizka (I don’t think that I spelled that correctly … oops.) … I didn’t really love her, but I didn’t hate her, either (see? Contradiction!); she was just kind of one of those so-so characters for me.

But the Dragon, I liked him. You’ve got to be prepared for him, ’cause he’s a bitter old magician (though he looks like he’s in his twenties … yep). He actually reminded me a lot of Rumpelstiltskin from Once Upon a Time, but from the first two seasons, and he’s not as funny.

The Falcon was also quite enjoyable for me. He’s one of the magicians who’s all high and mighty, and I loved him.

Kasia … I didn’t like her. She’s the best friend and I think that you’re suppose to love her, but I just couldn’t connect with her. And I found myself hoping that she’d die at every chance that I got.

Writing/Plot:

The writing was also different from what I was expecting. The paragraphs tended to take up 1/3 to ½ the page. It didn’t really bother me much until the last 70-100 pages (more on that below), and then it started to drag on a bit. The writing was also a LOT of showing vs telling. But the writing wasn’t at all bad! I rather enjoyed it. It’s just … different from what I had pictured (??) in my mind.

Problems:

First off, the main character’s name is A……a. Thankfully, it was in the 1st person, and it didn’t matter a whole bunch. Though they literally only said her name I think 7 times in the whole book. Yep. Though the author did have a pronunciation thing! In the back. In the acknowledgments/author’s notes. Uh-huh.

As I said above, by the last 70-100 pages it was very slow going. Oddly enough, that’s where all the “action” scenes were. I actually found myself dreading (okay, that may be a little bit of an exaggeration…) having to going back and reading this book. It’s just … there was too much showing and not enough telling. I also was highly confused (actually, during a lot of the book I was), and that didn’t help.

And then there’s some “other” stuff. I know when you read a YA book, you run the giant risk of having the scenes, but I just didn’t like it in this book. Firstly, A…….a is only 17 and the Dragon is well over 150 years old (creepy, right?). And I just didn’t like them together. But then you had to have the scenes (and I do think that most of you know what I’m talking about, and, if not, good for you) that were pretty inappropriate, in my professional opinion. Thankfully, it only happened twice.

Other/Summary:

fc680715ff92f915ca6afbd1144da24aSo, as you can probably tell by now, this book wasn’t stellar for me. But, if you’ve read through this whole review (I applaud you!!) and you’re still interested, let me just quickly re-go-over (?? Hehe. Yep.) some of the things that you should look out for.

Romance and other stuff: There was kissing (ugh!) and romance between two people with a 110+ age difference, some sexual scenes (sorry guys, couldn’t be avoided) that I really wanted to skip over, and, yeah.

Violence: So far I haven’t gone over this much, but there was actually a decent amount of it. There were beheadings and stabbings and battles, and for you weak stomachs … be forewarned!

Overall, I really did enjoy this! But like the lost interest towards the end and the whole romance stuff I didn’t love it a lot.

Sorry guys, but I don’t think that I’d recommend this book… But if you REALLY think that you would love this … then go for it! (But don’t say that I didn’t warn you!)

Three Stars ∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1

button-amazon


Hey y’all! Sorry for that long review … but I just had to get it out. So … what are some books that you have VERY mixed views over??? Tell me in the comments below! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Can You Simultaneously Love and Hate a Book?

Add yours

  1. I must be a good judge of books because I hardly ever read bad ones… Or maybe I’m just really picky. I found when I read the Hobbit it was really boring at times, but when I think back on it, I actually enjoyed the plot and you can’t blame the writing because it was written awhile ago and you just have to get used to ‘old talk’.
    I actually really like the story of George and the Dragon (presuming this book is based off the original tale…) but if you don’t like this, I probably won’t read it.
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I hardly ever read books that I don’t like!
      I’m agreement about the Hobbit! When you’re reading it, it drags. But after, you really liked it.
      I wanted to like this book so badly! But there were definitely some YA scenes, and it just was confusing and dragged….
      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

