Illusionarium – Heather Dixon (one of my now-favorite authors!)

Guys, I read an audiobook. Er, listened to one. And the reader was British (or just had an accent…). And amazingness. This book is glorious.

It is Illusionarium by Heather Dixon. Miss Dixon has only written two books, but I’ve loved them both, and now I can officially say that she is one of my favorite authors! 🙂


22840398 What if the world holds more dangers—and more wonders—than we have ever known? And what if there is more than one world? From Heather Dixon, author of the acclaimed Entwined, comes a brilliantly conceived adventure that sweeps us from the inner workings of our souls to the far reaches of our imaginations.

Jonathan is perfectly ordinary. But then—as every good adventure begins—the king swoops into port, and Jonathan and his father are enlisted to find the cure to a deadly plague. Jonathan discovers that he’s a prodigy at working with a new chemical called fantillium, which creates shared hallucinations—or illusions. And just like that, Jonathan is knocked off his path. Through richly developed parallel worlds, vivid action, a healthy dose of humor, and gorgeous writing, Heather Dixon spins a story that calls to mind The Night Circus and Pixar movies, but is wholly its own.


What I thought:

Um, guys, I don’t even know where to start on this! Okay. Actually, I can. No, not really. IT’S JUST SO GOOD.

I love the cover! Though, it doesn’t really have much to do with the book …. But it’s still gorgeous!!

So, I loved Entwined (review here) by the same author, and saw that the audiobook for Illusionarium was free, so I snatched it up, even though I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it.

And then, last week (as I said in my last post) I was sick and didn’t want to read a physical book, so I put on this audiobook.

And finished it in two days – which is really fast audiobook-wise for me!

Firstly, the narrator is a Bristish dude who was awesome! And the book was just amazing!

It takes place in the UK in the 1800s, but it’s kinda like in an alternate universe. And you could say that it’s a magical book, but it’s more of a science-y book. And I love science. And there were some equations and everything and- and- and- *sigh*

(Okay, so I guess that there wasn’t a “secondly” or “thirdly” or “fourthly” or, well, you get the idea.)

Characters:

Jonathan. Oh. My. Goodness. He’s just so sweet, and he’s pretty smart, and he want’s to be a surgeon, and I just love him! (If he were real, I’d totally snatch him up, plus: surgeon-in-training = RICH!! 😛 )

Hannah – So she’s my age, and she’s this super genius who’s got all these cool comebacks and her and Jonathan together are adorable! (Oh, and, before you get any ideas, THEY’RE SIBLINGS.)

Lockwood – did I spell that right? – was awesome, as well! He and “Johnny” together were hilarious, ’cause they couldn’t stand each other!

Basically, the characters are what made it. AHHH!!!

Writing/Plot:

I love Heather Dixon’s writing, and I totally wish that she’d write more!

Plot-wise, it was awesome! It did drag a little bit towards the middle-end, but it was awesome!!!

Problems:

As I said, it kinda dragged a bit in the middle. Other then that, I didn’t really notice anything.

Other/Summary:

I loved this book! Though for some more “sensitive” readers, there are some things that you’d look out for. There’s barely any romance (but when there is, I was giggling like crazy), but there’s a lot of deaths (mostly shot; not too descriptive), and there’s mutated people. Not zombies, but still some younger people might find them a bit creepy. 😉

I’d definitely recommend this! It has a sci-fi feel, but also a fantasy, and yet still – steampunk. So if you like that, you’d probably like this. While I think that teenagers would like it more, pre-teens would definitely enjoy this!

Five Stars ∗∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


Guys, I tried to make it not show through TOO much, but I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!! But, yes. Please read this. Now. And, hmm … now for the question. (And if you’re not a blogger, just pretend that you are.) Would you rather get more likes, comments, or subscribes? (And do whichever or those you’d prefer, please! 😛 ) Comment below and also tell me your favorite audiobook!

6 thoughts on “Illusionarium – Heather Dixon (one of my now-favorite authors!)

Add yours

  1. I listened to an audiobook once but I find it so hard to focus; I’m more of a visual learner myself 🙂
    I really want to read Entwined actually, it’s on my Amazon wish list. I’ll be sure to check this out too!
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

