It’s. a. cure. for. everything. Dun. dun. duh!!!

Hullo! Today I’m reviewing a book by J. Grace Pennington: Implant.


J Grace Pennington - Implant Welcome to the world of a universal cure.

Gordon Harding didn’t ask for the life he has. He didn’t ask to be orphaned. He didn’t ask to go through life with cancer. And he certainly didn’t ask to be pulled into a future world without warning–a world where every human being is controlled by means of a medical implant.

And when he learns that he’s the only one who can destroy the base of operations, he’s faced with an impossibly painful choice: either hide and let the world decay under this mysterious futuristic force, or rescue humanity from oppression, knowing that there’s someone out there who is willing to use any means necessary to stop him.


What I thought:

I got this ebook for free from helping out with some stuff for indie authors, and that was MONTHS ago, so I felt bad for not reading this and reviewing it. But, lo and behold, here I am!

So I was (and just finished) on a dystopian spree (I was at 12, though it was broken by one fantasy book that I was on a blog tour), and this was the fourth on that. ANYWHO. I read this, and I really enjoyed it, despite some things. It was pretty good, and I’ve wanted to read this book for quite awhile.

Oh, and in the first chapter there was a girl with autism, and I was thoroughly impressed with how J. Grace Pennington wrote it. She was actually quite realistic. So, that’s a plus!

Writing/Plot:

I enjoyed the writing more then I thought I would, but it still wasn’t my favorite. (Though, unless you’re Bryan Davis, you have a hard time making it to my favorite writing.)

I liked the plot, but I found it predictable. Like, from chapter one I had already figured stuff out. Yeah. (Though some part of it is that I am, quite literally, a genius.)

Characters:

As always, I liked some, I hated didn’t like some. I liked Gordon, though, not overly. And I liked Neal. And Caleb. But Doc was, by far, my favorite.

I didn’t like basically anyone else. Though, to be fair, those are, like, the only three that we get to know.

And the villain. I had predicted who it was, and, I think that they made a pretty good villain. But, I was still kinda neutral on liking them.

But, despite only getting to know a few characters (meaning four), I thought that they were all pretty well done.

Problems:

So, despite liking it, there were still a number of things that I didn’t like.

You know how books have too many characters? Well, not this book. I feel as if it had too little. I mean, you knew their names. But. that. is. it.

This book was soo predictable for me. There were a few twists that were suppose to make you gasp, but, it was a little boring to me ’cause I had figured it out A BOOK AGO, while Gordon was still trying to figure it out.

Gordon was a little unrealistic to mean. I mean, he had cancer and at the beginning he was getting out of breath at everything and feeling sick all. the. time. But when he’s running constantly and doing these crazy things? N.o.t.h.i.n.g.

Also, we don’t get a grasp on the time frame. At first it makes it out like it’s hundreds of years in the future, then later it makes it seem like it’s only a year later. Yeah.

Lastly, you know how it talks about “a cure for everything” and making it seem like the main purpose? Well, without giving away too much, yes, it is in there, but it’s kinda in the background. A lot.

Other/Summary:

So, this book wasn’t quite stellar for me. I think that it was because my reading/interest level is higher then this. But I still would recommend this to you all! There is violence/explosions but nothing too bad. Though I wouldn’t recommend this to LITTLE kids, I think that middle-grade kids would be able to read this!

Three star ∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1

8 thoughts on “It’s. a. cure. for. everything. Dun. dun. duh!!!

Add yours

  1. I got this for promoting the Indie author book sale thing too! I need to get to reading the five I got. *hides* I know, I know. I get distracted with other books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

