This is my favorite book (well, tied three ways), so you’d better like it!

And now it is week TWO in my Ilyon Chronicles run, and this is book one: Resistance by Jaye L. Knight. (Click right here for the review of Half-Blood, bk 1.5.)

I’m super excited for this week, because Resistance is – so far – my favorite out of the whole series. And, I hope that you enjoy my review! 😀


Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00026] “Don’t you know? Animals like you have no soul.”

Could God ever love a half-blood all of society looks upon with such fear and disdain? Jace once believed so, but when a tragic loss shatters the only peace he’s ever known, his faith crumbles as the nagging doubts he’s tried to put behind him descend on his grieving heart. With them come the haunting memories of the bloodstained past he longs to forget, but can never escape.

Taken from home at a young age and raised to serve the emperor, Kyrin Altair lives every day under a dangerous pretense of loyalty. After her unique observation skills and perfect memory place her into direct service to the emperor, Kyrin finds herself in further jeopardy as it becomes increasingly difficult to hide her belief in Elôm, the one true God.

Following the emperor’s declaration to enforce the worship of false gods under the penalty of death, many lives are endangered. But there are those willing to risk everything to take a stand and offer aid to the persecuted. With their lives traveling paths they never could have imagined, Jace and Kyrin must fight to overcome their own fears and conflicts with society as they become part of the resistance.

(Christian Fantasy/Clean New Adult/No Magic)


What I thought:

This is tied (three ways) for being my favorite book! It is so good!

I had heard that a lot of people had loved this series, and I saw that there was going to be a blog tour for Half-Blood and that I could the book  for free (yes, shame on me), but I just had to read the others, so I thought what the heck?

I got the books, and I read through this one fast. It was soooooo amazingly good, and I just love it!

When reading this (and rereading it) Jaye kept pulling at my emotions, and it was so beautifully written! You definitely feel the pain and suffering and joy of the characters!

And where it overlaps with Half-Blood, it’s done so masterfully, it felt kinda monotonous reading this after that, since it was so well done. (And, yes, that was a compliment. 😉 )

Writing/Plot:

If you read my last review on Jaye’s books, then you’d know that I LOVE her writing! As my favorite author, it is required that I do, and she didn’t disappoint!

The plot of Resistance kept me guessing the whole time! I thought for certain that it would go one way, but they it went in a complete opposite one! (Sssh, I didn’t say  that!)

Characters:

These characters. I soooooo wish that they were real! Now, a bit on what I like about each of them.

Jace is one of the MCs, and he is probably my favorite. He’s such a tortured person, and he has a very difficult past. And it is so cool to see his character development, and how he loves Tyra, his black wolf, and all other animals.

Kyrin and Kaden. So they’re both twins, and though Kyrin’s the MC, I’m just throwing Kaden in here to save space (oops). Kyrin is definitely the older one of the two, she’s more thinking stuff through, and she has “abilities” that are figuring people out and observation skills. And Kaden is protective of her, but he’s also act on impulse and always thinking of food. So, basically, my older sister is Kyrin, and I am Kaden, without a doubt.

Then you have Rayad and Warin, who are some of the oldest at the camp (you’ll have to read to find out!) and the “wise” people. They’re both amazing, and so kind and awesome.

Emperor Daican is the villain, and he is a good one! I won’t say that I don’t like him, but he definitely fits the villain role, and makes you really angry at him! 😉

And, there are actually a ton more characters that I love, but I’ve just run out of space. But don’t worry! They’re not overbearing, and it doesn’t even seem like a lot! They’re all very distinct and not easy to mix up, so this is definitely a strong spot for Jaye!

Problems:

Okaaaay, so there’s not too much stuff here, but just a little.

There are only a few writing flaws, but most of you probably wouldn’t even notice them.

For Jace being the MC, there’s not a whole lot of his POV. Which, I love his, and that kinda disappointed me.

Lastly, EVERYONE’S eyes are blue. Like, I mean, really? There are a few brown ones sprinkled in, but not really. :/

But other then that, I found nothing else wrong with this golden book.

Other:

Content stuff:

VIOLENCE: Executions by beheading; fist-fights; mentions/a little bit of torture;  ROMANCE: Yeah … nothing. Well, there’s a guy who likes the girl MC, but he’s kinda like the flirty guy at Tarvin Hall, and he flirts with all the girls. LANGUAGE: Nothing.

Yes, I’d definitely recommend this! It does have a higher reading level, and is long, and some subjects only older people would understand, so this would be for teenagers. And I think that everyone that age or older should read this book!

Five Stars ∗∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


Please tell me that one of you have read the Ilyon Chronicles?? And what do you think the surprise will be, at the end of the four weeks (though some of my friends should know…)? Tell me in the comments one of your favorite book series that you’d think I would like!

 

6 thoughts on “This is my favorite book (well, tied three ways), so you’d better like it!

  1. YOU ALREADY KNOW THIS BUT I LOVE THESE BOOKS SO MUCH. ❤ I am SO excited to read Samara's Peril I can't even asdrklajfklsjk. NINE MORE DAYS UNTIL IT RELEASES IN PAPERBACK! 😀

    Yeah, I noticed that blue-eye thing as well. 🙂

    Also, content-wise, there is some stuff only suitable for older readers. Like there's a mention or two of an abortion for if Kyrin should get pregnant, and that scene where Davira questions Kaden. There's also mentions of low necklines and I think one of an unfaithful husband. But it's definitely not too over-the-top, and a little of that stuff does make it realistic. It shows HOW AWFUL DAICAN IS AS EMPEROR ARGH.

    Ahh, I'm guessing that the surprise is a giveaway of one of the Ilyon books? (Or all of them? :P)

    Nice review! Sorry for this long comment! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, the long comment is perfectly fine!
      And some of what you said is in the next book, but I didn’t think to say that stuff, since it was just so brief.
      I finished Samara’s Peril late last night, and it was amazing!!! (*hint* *hint* Jayrin!!) Though a little of it reminded me of Jaye’s other book, Truth, it was brilliant!
      Haha, well you’ll have to see! Thanks for commenting!! 😀

      Like

    • Thnks, Aria! Yes, I love Narnia! My whole childhood is around it. 😉
      I haven’t heard of the the Betsy-Tacy series, and I think that I’ve read Redwall before. More books to check into!

      Like

Leave a Reply

