Entwined by Heather Dixon

Pluto should be a planet!! I mean, I get why it ISN’T, but once a planet, always a planet, right?? Sorry, I’m doing physics in science, and I still remember when they said that Pluto was no longer a planet (though I was only, what, six? Seven?).

ANYWAYS. Today I am reviewing a great book by Heather Dixon called Entwined.


8428195 Just when Azalea should feel that everything is before her—beautiful gowns, dashing suitors, balls filled with dancing—it’s taken away. All of it. And Azalea is trapped. The Keeper understands. He’s trapped, too, held for centuries within the walls of the palace. So he extends an invitation.

Every night, Azalea and her eleven sisters may step through the enchanted passage in their room to dance in his silver forest, but there is a cost. The Keeper likes to keep things. Azalea may not realize how tangled she is in his web until it is too late.


What I thought:

I saw on GR that my author friend, Shantelle Mary Hannu, loved this book, and it had such a pretty cover, that I decided to get it and try it for myself (and it’s a Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling, which I’ve always loved the story). So I got it from Thrift Books (check it out!) for maybe $3.50 HARDBACK. STILL LOOKING NEW. Yeah.

It took me a week or two to get around to reading it. But we’re moving into a fixer-uper and went there to work, and, in procrastination, I finished Nightmare’s Edge and read maybe 70 pages of this.

At first, I must admit, I was confused. I was kinda lost at everything, and I was thrown names and ages (e.v.e.r.y. s.i.n.g.l.e. age except for the two main girls. I know.), and parties and gentlemen and such.

But after that initial confusion, a couple chapters in, I was hopelessly enthralled.

Something I like about this, is that Azalea (MC) is not a super kick-butt character. She’s all about dancing (something I love and understand) and manners and not showing your feet/ankles to men (every. time. I laughed at that), and every man is “sir” or “lord” or “Mr.”. So it was kinda nice.

The romance was all nice and stuff, though as soon as she met “him,” you knew that they would get together.

There were plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, and quotable things, and shenanigans. 😀 Like, they literally named their feats. It’s GRAND. 😛

And some of my favorite parts were when Azalea had “suitors” come, and she and her sisters “got rid of them” (though it was strictly royal business [haha, as. if.]).

Characters:

Azalea didn’t take too long to like. Like I said, she’s not all kick-butt, she’s very lady-like and proper, but Bramble (the second princess), gives her a little bit of a “rebellious” streak.

I also liked Mr. Bradford, Lord Teddie, Prime Minister Fairweller, and the King. They all added something grand to the story.

Bramble was something else. Azalea reminded me of my older sister, and Bramble kinda reminded me of myself. She was let’s-all-go-and-break-the-rules-and-throw-potatoes-at-my-sister’s-suitor and so on and so forth. She was just so enjoyable!

OH. ALSO. It took my FOREVER for me to figure this out (Heather literally had to spell it out for me), but the twelve princess are all plant names (well, I knew that), but they’re all in alphabetical order: Azalea, Bramble, Clover, Delphinium, Evening Primrose “Eve,” Flora, Goldenrod, Hollyhock, Ivy, Jessamine, Kale, and Lily.

Plot/Writing:

Like I mentioned, it took me a few chapters to get into, but once I was in, I didn’t leave. It gave detail to things, but not too much. And each character had individual characters, and there was maybe one twist that surprised me (man, I should be on Sherlock!).

The plot definitely had plenty of twists and kept my attention!

Problems:

Sometimes the characters did seem a tad bit overwhelming, and it did take me a couple chapters to get into, but overall, I didn’t really find too many problems with it!

Oh, but one thing was that I was expecting poison (yeah … I’m not quite sure why, but hey! Don’t question me!), and was disappointed not to have any. :/

Other/Summary:

This book was darker. There was darker magic, though not too dark, a little romance, and a little gore.

For magic: there’s “swearing on silver,” which is just basically a very serious oath; it mentions someone drinking blood and using that as an EXTREMELY serious oath; there’s a magician king who won’t die until he kills a certain guy; animating objects; keeping souls “hostage”; stuff like that.

Romance: thinking about a guy; kissing; that’s. it. I know!! XD

Gore: the creepy king/magician guy “sewed” ghosts’ mouths closed; the mom died of I think cancer (though that’s not really gore); minor injuries; the blood stuff; and there’s something else that I can’t think of…

Also, this book could be considered paranormal. Though, I’m not usually a fan of that, and I rather enjoyed this, so it wasn’t overbearing.

As soon as I finished this book, I immediately wanted to read it again! So, it’s one of those kinds of books.

And if you don’t read this book for because it’s a retelling, or you like fantasy/magic books with a touch of romance, then read it because of the relationships! I think that that’s one of the main reasons that I love this book. It’s so sweet to see the relationships of all the sisters, and how they all grow closer with their father. It’s amazing.

This is probably for older teens, or younger teens who are okay with the things listed. But I’d definitely recommend it!

And this book I’m kinda teetering between four stars and five, so I’ll just settle for somethin’ in between.

Four ∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


What do you think – should Pluto be a planet?? And do you guys like retellings? What’s your favorite retelling and original? Tell me in the comments below! Can’t wait to hear from all of you! 😀

8 thoughts on “Entwined by Heather Dixon

Add yours

  1. THIS BOOK SOUNDS GLORIOUS AND I REALLY WANT TO READ IT. ❤

    Oh, THANK YOU for mentioning Thrift Books. The book was like new you say? Wow. 😀

    As for Pluto being a planet… I've never really considered my opinion on the subject. xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

