Speeaaaakkkk!!!

Hello Africa, hello Antarctica, hello Asia, hello Australia, hello Europe, hello North America, hello South America! (Well that was a little long. 😉 )

How many of you remember when I did a review for A Time to Die awhile ago? No one? I must say that I’m disappointed in you all. :/ Well, today is the second book in the Out of Time series, by the lovely Nadine Brandes, and it is A Time to Speak.


Nadine Brandes - A Time to Speak.jpg What happens when you live longer than you wanted to?

Parvin Blackwater wanted to die, but now she’s being called to be a leader. The only problem is, no one wants to follow.

The Council is using Jude’s Clock-matching invention to force “new-and-improved” Clocks on the public. Those who can’t afford one are packed into boxcars like cattle and used for the Council’s purposes. Parvin and Solomon team up to rescue the people. Instead, they find themselves on a cargo ship of Radicals headed out to sea. What will the Council do to them? And why are people suddenly dying before their Clocks have zeroed-out?

~From Goodreads

 


What I thought:

(Quick thing, though, I haven’t read this for a few months, so we’ll see how this goes…)

So, first thing that I’m going to say is: the first book has a waaay different feel then the first. Like, really different, but in my opinion (and I think a lot of others), it was better!

In some ways, it almost had a WWII feel to it, like how all the radicals are being boxed up and taken away, just like the Jews. (But don’t worry! If you don’t like that kinda stuff, you’ll still like it! It’s different enough that it won’t upset ya.)

And this book is also DEFINITELY Christian. In the first book, I almost felt as if the Christian aspect was a bear attacking me, since I wasn’t expecting that much Chrisitian. But this one had a more … manageable amount. And it was written beautifully!

Writing/Plot:

I really like Nadine’s writing! It’s beautiful and easy to read and I really love it! Even when she is killing my favorite characters!

The plot is great and carried out awesomely! Yay Nadine!

Characters:

Yeah, I definitely liked Parvin better in this. And … Solomon. 🙂 He is just awesome! Like, Nadine, can I please take him???

Ooh, and I like how Nadine did Parvin’s mom. The secret and how her character was written was just amazing!

Now, Milkman (I can’t remember his name! Why can’t I remember his name??!!), he was … ugh. His character was written well, and by well, I mean really unlikable. And that’s coming from me, who likes all the unlikable character. Yeah.

Problems:

Hmm. I feel that it did borrow stuff from WWII a little much, and Solomon was impossibly brilliant.

And I know there’s another thing or two, but my poor brain can’t think of it.

Other/Summary:

So, I LOVED this book, and am anxiously awaiting for the third and final book! (A little bitter sweet).

There is kissing, but that’s as far as it goes. And, there’s a lot of death. Like, *sniffs* a lot. *glares at Nadine* Some of the deaths are worse then others (like, one or two or more people are blown up, and Parivn sees body parts, though it’s brief and not too described. But, just that kind of stuff.) And make sure that you’re ready for some of the characters you’re attached to DIE IN HORRIBLE DEATHS RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOUR VERY LITTLE EYES.

Ahem. So, yes. But I’d definitely recommend this to teenagers who want a good Christian book! (And even if you don’t like dystopian, I think that you’d like it.)

Four Stars ∗∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


So…. whaddya think? Have you read a book where the second book had a way different feel then the first? What was it? Have a great day! Unless, of course, you’re a good person… Just kidding! Maybe. (Oh, while I write this, I’m listening to “The Star Spangled Man” from Captain America. 😛 ) And, sorry if I messed you guys up by posting a day early! (I’m diabolical! >:D )

 

8 thoughts on “Speeaaaakkkk!!!

  1. OKAY THAT COVER THOUGH. THAT COVER IS FANTASTIC. *pets cover* And tbh, this probably would be a not-such-a-good series for me because I don’t like things to be overly preachy? hehe. ;D But it stilllll, I’m glad you liked it! I HAVE read books where the 2nd one radically changes it’s tune, but mostly in a bad way. *cries* Except for the Shatter Me series. It grows SO MUCH over the 3 books and it’s glorious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds AWESOME. I’ve never really read any dystopias… I don’t think. I really want to start with Divergent and the Lunar Chronicles but my book list is a bit, ya know, HUGE so it’s gonna take me awhile.
    Simi
    P.S. Oceania is the continent – Australia is the country in it, as well as other islands around it. Sorry for being annoying and nerdy 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

