The Siren

Susan Weebers! (Haha, sorry, Studio C stuff 😉 )

Anywho, I’m here with Mary Weber’s book Storm Siren (bk. 1 in The Storm Siren Trilogy). Enjoy! 🙂


Mary Weber - Storm Siren.jpg “I raise my chin as the buyers stare. Yes. Look. You don’t want me. Because, eventually, accidentally, I will destroy you.”

In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.

As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.

Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed.

Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons.

But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?

Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.


What I thought:

First off, isn’t that cover gorgeous? I showed it to all my family (which is kinda hard when all you have is the cover on the kindle app on your phone).

So I was really excited to read this. I saw that a lot of my Goodreads friends liked it, and I thought that I’d like it too. And then I saw that my sister had the ebook from the library, so I got it on my phone, and read it in less then 24 hours! (Which to some may seem impressive, and to some not. But for me to read that fast mid-week is pretty good.)

The first page had me captive. I was kinda confused, but it was very interesting. I liked Nym and there was a lot of interior dialogue (actually, throughout the whole book and kinda got annoying for me).

Then throughout the book I kinda got annoyed at Nym, then I’d like her. And so on and so forth.

I really like Nym’s powers. They’re cool and deadly, though I felt that she learned to control them pretty fast (if that was a spoiler, then sorry!).

Writing/Plot:

Mary Weber’s writing is pretty good. I really liked it (though sometimes the interior dialogue felt a little much). And the plot moved along pretty fast, yet not too fast. Pretty well paced.

Characters:

Basically throughout the whole book I only liked a handful of characters (though there weren’t many characters in the book): Haven (haha, yeah), Breck, Colin, and Sedric.

I wasn’t really a fan of Eogan. At all. I feel that I was suppose to ship him and Nym … but I didn’t. I really wanted Colin and Nym to be a thing.

Colin: I really liked him. Like, he was my favorite. (Though comedy relief are rarely not my favorite. 😉 )

Nym: I was kinda 50/50 with her. I liked her sass and sarasam and stuff, but at times it seemed a little … much.

Eogan: Again, I think that I was suppose to like him, but I just wanted to slap him. Though he did have his good moments, I just wasn’t a fan.

Adora: She just- She’s- I think that she got dropped from a cliff when she was a baby. Seriously. I mean, frogs and male peacocks?? She’s just wow.

Though only for those who’ve read the book, highlight below to see my major complaint about the characters:

My two favorite characters died! The o.n.l.y. two that I liked. Wow.

Problems:

My major complaint and why I was a little iffy on this book: Nym and Eogan. It seemed like the only reason that Nym like Eogan was because he was handsome. Like, literally the only reason. And if Eogan was in the scene, Nym was always commenting to herself about his green eyes and dark skin. And for training purposes, Eogan had to touch Nym, so there was a lot of commenting of how Nym felt his skin against hers, or how she craved for him to hold her, etc. It just felt a little much (especially when you. had. Colin. right. there.).

Also, I felt a little lost in the world. You really didn’t know much until they came right upon it. Like measurements, they would say something (which I kinda assumed that it was a mile??), and I just had to guess. Same for animals and places.

Other:

This book has made up cursing (hulls, litches, bolcrane), though nothing that made me uncomfortable. Nym also does cut/carve herself a little. There’s suggestive stuff, and talk of a “favor house,” but nothing past kissing. There’s also magic and talk/action of an evil being posessing/overtaking bodies. There’s also fighting/gore. I felt that it was at a fine level, not mentioned too much.

So I think that this is a book for teenager (maybe upper teenagers), and YA. And I would recommend this to those that don’t mind the listed. It really is a good book, just I wasn’t feeling it.

I will continue on with the trilogy, and at some later point I may try re-reading this after reading some “fluffy” stuff.

Also, I bumped it up half a  star because of that ending. Action. Death. Epicness.

Three Stars ∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


So what’d you think? Have you read this before, and what was your opinion? But most importantly – do you like the X-Men?? 😀

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Siren

Add yours

  1. OF COURSE I LOVE XMEN. IS THERE ANY OTHER ANSWER TO THAT?!? *flails* Wolverine tho. <33 Ahem. But this book's cover is gorgeous! I love her hair. #goals Oh but the romance does sound really awkwardly shallow?! I mean, looks are nice and all but…seriously, there needs to be more to a relationship than that. *glares a little at this Nym character*
    Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed this one!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

