DIE!! Er, I want to talk about clocks…

DIE DALEKS!! What? Oh, sorry ’bout that! 😉

Today I’m reviewing a book by the lovely author, Nadine Brandes. The book? Yes, yes I’m getting there (impatient little Slitheen)! It’s A Time to Die (bk 1 in the Out of Time series). Enjoy! (Also, sorry but this might be a little long.)


Nadine Brandes - A Time to Die.jpg How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside.

In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the crooked justice system. But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence.

What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.

 


What I thought:

Me to Myself: I must read this! Everyone is gushing about it and it’s just sitting on my shelf!

Myself to Me: Yes, but I have such a huge TBR list! AND I have other books that are on my shelf that I haven’t read yet!

Me to Myself: Mm, hmm. You’ve done it before, and the cover’s so pretty!

And that’s how I stated reading it! (So what? I talk to myself Gollum style.)

At first, I didn’t see what all the hype was about. I found Parvin kinda whiny (you might die in a year. So your brother left you when he said he’d stay. Okay, not the best examples…), and while I loved all the tech/world stuff, I just … I dunno.

But after she goes over the wall (Wwhat? SPOILERS? But it says it in the synopsis!!), I was really enthralled and I began to like Parvin more (and some other characters. A lot).

I also loved how Nadine gave the world balance (ish) of primitive villages, and tech-y cities. And, I must say, I quite want a Sherrod Suit. Badly. Really badly.

Also, this book had more romance then I was expecting (well to be fair, when I picked this book up, I wasn’t really thinking that their would be romance, though why I thought that, I do not know), but I felt that though it got a bit annoying when Parvin was trying to figure out who she liked and what she felt, that it was handled pretty well.

And there were some a lot of PARVIN-WHAT-ON-EARTH-ARE-YOU-DOING?! moments, but there were even more NADINE-WHY-THE-HECK-DID-THAT-HAPPEN-?!-I-MUST-KNOW!! moments. Yeah…

I loved the whole faith aspect. It was pretty well done, and since this is a dystopian, it gave hope that you don’t usually find in this genre. And I feel that it was well done.

Plot/Writing:

I really enjoyed Nadine’s writing. Like most YA books these days, A Time to Die is written in the first-person, and you really get into Parvin’s head. And I thought that Nadine did a pretty good job with that. We definitely get a lot of interior dialogue. 😉

Characters:

I already stated about on how I felt about Parvin. But I also realized, she’s a lot like me. A decent helping like me, actually.

Now, onto the other characters!

Willow: I told my brother that if Willow wasn’t grafted to Elm, I would make him marry her (I mean, they’re close to the same age and everything!), so that pretty much sums up my feelings for her! 😀

Jude: I like Jude. One thing that I like about him, is that he loses his anger. He’s not the “picture perfect” side-kick, but he’s a human (or is he, Nadine? Or is he?) who loses his temper, and it just makes him feel that much more real.

Skelley Chase: Now before I say anything, let me hide behind my fire breathing dragon. I like Skelley Chase. *hides* I like villains, and this was no exception.

Reid: I quite liked him. I felt like he was a mixture of me and my older sister. And throughout the whole book, I was torn between who I wanted to die: Parvin or Reid. Yep.

Problems:

Like I said, I found Parvin a bit on the whiny side. And there were times when everything seemed a bit too coincidental. Also it was a bit annoying with all the contemplating on “if he likes me and should I like him” and “which guy” kinda stuff.

Summary/Other:

So I really enjoyed this book and I found it a great Christian dystopian book. I look forward to finishing the rest of the series, and reading any book that Nadine writes in the future..

I’d definitely recommend this book to teenagers and up! There are some intense scenes and some violence, but nothing that really bothered me, though if your squeamish at needles and stitches, then YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!! And like I said, there was some talk/thoughts of romance, but nothing inappropriate at all!

Four and a half stars ∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


So … you’re gonna read it now, right? Question time! What would you do if you had only one year left to live? Tell me in the comments below! And now I’m back off to blow up some Daleks! Tally ho!

2 thoughts on “DIE!! Er, I want to talk about clocks…

  1. OOH THIS SOUNDS GREAT. I LOVE DYSTOPIAN. Well, I kind of do? I feel a bit dystopianed-out though and I’m always looking for ones that are unique hehe. Omg one year left to live?!? I guess I would write the book I was most passionate about and EAT A LOT OF CAKE and try not to panic about oncoming doom. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

