Through the Mirror

Hey everyone! So, through the mirror, huh? What’d ya think it’s about?? 😀

Anyways, today I’m doing one of my favorite books, Beyond the Reflection’s Edge (bk 1 in the Echoes from the Edge trilogy) by Bryan Davis (could you guess?? 😛 ).


Bryan Davis - Beyond the Reflection's Edge Sixteen-year-old Nathan Shepherd has a great life traveling where the careers of his father, an investigator, and mother, a renowned violinist, take him … until his parents are found murdered. Left with only a mirror and notes from his father’s last case, Nathan goes into hiding at the remote country home of Tony, his father’s college buddy, and Tony’s teenage daughter, Kelly. The mysterious mirror must be a clue to what happened to his parents, and when images appear in it—people and things that don’t exist—Nathan and Kelly painstakingly gather evidence. But the killers want the mirror too, and danger threatens the teens at every turn. As it becomes evident that Nathan’s father had stumbled upon dark forces at work in the world, several questions arise. Could it be that the mirror is a portal to a parallel world? Could this technology be used for evil purposes? And could his parents still be alive, trapped in another dimension? Nathan and Kelly struggle to solve the mystery before they too become victims. This chilling, hair-raising adventure is jam-packed with action in a fantastical world where nothing is as it seems, and even mirrors tell lies.


What I thought:

Um, I loved everything! Well, I’ll go into specifics. 🙂

First off, it’s by Bryan Davis, my absolute favorite author, so of course I loved it from the moment I picked it up!

This is actually one of my favorite Bryan Davis books. Most of his other books are fantasy, but this one is definitely sci-fi, one of my favorite genres. 🙂 It definitely shines through that Mr. Davis loves science and knows his stuff!

I loved the Quattro mirror and the mystery surrounding it, which I still didn’t quite understand until bk 2. 😛 And then all the music! *sighs* I’m not a musician by any means, but I have family/friends who are, so I could understand and love it!

Also another thing I loved, was that you know in Christian books how along the way the protagonist usually finds Christianity/increases in faith and is helped along by a mentor/friend? Well in this, the protagonist was a believer (though the book wasn’t overly Christiany) and was helping lead a friend to Christ, which I thought was pretty cool.

Plot/Writing:

I loved the plot! Maybe a little hard to follow at times (or that may just be my slow brain at midnight…), but it was awesome!! I mean, it’s time(ish)/world travelling WITH MUSIC AND MIRRORS!! So … yeah.

And I’ve said this in my other Bryan Davis reviews, but I love his writing, and this book was no different!! 😀

Characters:

So, I liked Nathan. Then, I’ll admit it, I didn’t care for him. *hides* He was just a little too, I don’t know. “Old-fashioned” as Kelly put it. Like, he wouldn’t let anyone lie for anything!! But, he did grow on me. 🙂 He was pretty sweet to all girls. ❤

Kelly was a great character. She had a past, a troubled one, but yet she trusts Nathan, and becomes friends with him, which was cool to see. And though I couldn’t exactly relate to a lot of her troubles, it was cool seeing her overcome them.

Clara was an awesome tutor! I mean, couldn’t I have her for my tutor??

Daryl. Oh, Daryl. She. Is. Amazing. At first I didn’t care for her, but after a few pages she was one of my favorites. She is such a movie nerd, like me! It was fun to read all her movie quotes. 😛

Problems:

There were quite a few times where I couldn’t follow, like it was pretty science-y. So there was an overload of science/dimension travel, which I kinda liked, but there were times when I had to go back and reread things to get what the they were talking about.

Also I felt like Little Francesca acted more like a five year old, then a ten year old, but I pushed that aside while reading (and I have a sibling who’s ten and one who’s five, so, yeah).

Other/Summary:

I’m still on the fence about letting Trevor read this. I mean, there’s nothing bad, just maybe for understanding level.

Romance wise, there wasn’t really much. Like, you could tell that Nathan liked Kelly and vice versa, but nothing happened. 🙂

As for violence, there’s nothing much. Well, there is this one part later in the book where a guy gets shot a bunch of times, and Mr. Davis describes that. But not too bad.

So maybe for teenagers and up, or some pre-teens. It’s more a matter of interest level again.

But as this being one of my favorite Bryan Davis book, I’d  definitely recommend this!! Please, read this so I can squeal over it’s awesomeness with you!!

Five Stars∗∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


So what did you guys think? Do you like sci-fi as much as I do? Or do you not care for it? And would you guys be interested in reading this book, or if you have, what’d you think?? Let me know in the comments!! 😀

4 thoughts on “Through the Mirror

Add yours

  1. Oh my goodness, this book sounds amazing! I’m not really one for sci-fi (well, I haven’t read many sci-fi books) but this one sounds really good. But I have such a huge reading list! I will squish it in there somewhere 🙂
    Simi
    P.S. Have you read the Ruby Redfort series? It’s really good, like REALLY good, and if you like mysteries and stuff you will love Ruby Redfort. It’s such a good series!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry, it’s not that helpful I’m just feeding you recommendations, but this series is amazing. Just amazing. And I’ve only read the first 3 books! (There are 5 altogether)
        Thanks for the review 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

