The World They Created, is the World They are Destined to Save

Hola mi amigos! How’s it going? Can you believe that it’s 2016??

So today is Issym (bk 1 in The Chronicles of Xardis) by Jessie Mae Hodsdon! I hope you enjoy the review, and tell me what you think in the comments!! 😀


Jessie Mae Hodsdon - IssymSmolden the dragon has been waiting for centuries to escape the captivity of Issym’s underbelly. His army of minatours, toads, humans and shape shifters are impatient for battle.

The key to the survival of the mystical continent of Issym lies hidden in the minds of teenagers Seth and Rachel; but will they be able to reconnect with each other and the things they once imagined before it’s too late? Issym’s unique creatures look to them for leadership, but Smolden the dragon has other plans for the teens.

Caught up in an adventure they could only have imagined, Seth and Rachel wish neither to fight nor help the dragon. Will their selfish desire to run home to earth keep them from saving Issym? Or will they die trying?

~From Goodreads


What I thought:

Well, first off, when I was nine Jessie came to my co-op and did a writing class/book signing, so of course my mom dragged me and two of my siblings to listen. Hearing Jessie talk about how she was seventeen when she published the book, and that she was homeschooled, it inspired me to write. So, that’s how I got into writing (though I was writing a kinda stupid story before that…).

Anyways, we got her trilogy and I read them. That was four years ago. So I decided to reread them this December, so that’s what I’ve been doing! (Also, if you haven’t noticed yet, I have a currently reading on my sidebar. Thanks, Simi for the idea!!)

I really liked the whole idea and the cover is awesome.

Anywho, I loved the whole story line and plot and all that stuff. Though this book had my biggest pet peeve as a reader: grammar mistakes. Like, this book has a lot! I understand that she was fourteen when she wrote the first draft, but still!

Though I did like her world building. And species building as well. She created talking frogs, airsprites, mushnicks, and so forth. It was pretty cool to see the creations. 🙂

Plot/Writing:

As I already touched down on, I loved the plot. It was pretty cool, and I just really enjoyed it.

The writing, not so much… There were a ton of grammar/writing mistakes, and as I already said, it’s my biggest pet peeve.

But, I did enjoy her actual writing, despite the mistakes. 🙂

Characters:

Actually, I found Seth and Rachel kind annoying. I’m not quite sure why. But I did like them better towards the middle/end.

I could relate to Max on a certain level. So therefore, he became my favorite character. And even if I couldn’t relate to him I’d say that he was my favorite.

Problems:

There were some slow parts, and there were some parts that were a bit rushed. And there were times I was confused.

Jessie did a lot of head-hopping (another of my biggest pet peeves…). At times it worked, but when you jump through everyone’s head in the same scene, and sometimes paragraph? It just left me confused.

I also feel like she overused the words teen and youth. In the beginning, I felt as if Jessie used just one of those words alone more then some of their names. But I was relieved that it lessened later in the book.

And last thing, I felt that when they were ‘ministering’ to others, it felt kinda rehearsed and unnatural.

Other/Summary:

So I loved the idea/plot a lot! The world/creature building was great … but I felt the writing could’ve been improved.

I would recommend this. Mostly to preteens, as that’s the targeted age group. Though I do think that some teenagers would enjoy this.

But I think the rest of the series is better. So I hope you read The Chronicles of Xardis!

Three Stars ∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


So, what do you think? Are you going to read it now (’cause you should!)? When you were little (or you still do now) did you conjure up worlds that became actually, literally real?? Did you have an awesome Christmas? Did you get any books? Tell me in the comments!! 🙂

(Want to see something cool? Go to this link: hi! and then click the MENTORSHIP button. In the bottom left corner of the first picture is nine year old me!!)

4 thoughts on “The World They Created, is the World They are Destined to Save

  1. This book sounds awesome! I LOVE fantasy worlds and that kinda stuff 🙂
    Thanks for mentioning me! Funny thing is, I got a Magnus Chase book for Christmas! I haven’t started reading it yet, but when I do, I’ll tell you! Can’t wait to see your review on it 😀
    Happy New Year!
    Simi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh that’s marvellously awesome how this author inspired you in your writing! WOOT for homeschooled teen authors. ;D It was always my dream to be published as a teen? I didn’t quite get there, hehe, but I’m not sad about that now because I feel like my writing wasn’t really terrific back then. *nods sagely*
    Happy new year to you, too! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

