Is Diving Dangerous?

So, sorry about being two days late. I was rearranging my scheduled posts, and I must’ve missed the one for this week. Anyways, this week is the tenth anniversary for author Kendra E. Ardnek working on her series The Rizkaland Legends. So today I’m redoing a review for Water Princess, Fire Prince, the first book in that series. (You can find the first review here.)


Kendra E Ardnek - Water Princess, Fire PrinceWhen the Lady Dragon does come,
Hold fast, do not fear, do not run.
Your Water Princess will fight,
Fire Prince will set all to right.
Each shall come from a Fall,
Their union will save you all.

Despite the fact that she’s on track for competing in the Olympics, and he’s practically raised his younger brothers since they lost their mom in a car accident, Clara Mandras and Andrew Stevenson are pretty much normal teens. They have normal hopes, normal dreams, and they live in a normal world.
All this is torn away from them when they are thrust into another world and declared Water Princess and Fire Prince. With no experience ruling a country, meeting each other for the first time, and being expected to fight the Lady Dragon – an evil sorceress plaguing the world of Rizkaland – Clara and Andrew are underprepared and inexperienced. Unless they learn to work together despite their standing opposition, Rizkaland’s hope will be lost.

What is to come will change their lives forever.

~From Goodreads


What I thought:

Well, a few months ago (or, maybe a little more then a few) I saw that some blogs I followed were doing a cover reveal (I think) for WPFP (Water Princess, Fire Prince), and I thought the cover looked interesting. Then I saw that there was a sign-up for those who wanted to do a review for it, and I signed up almost immediately. Without reading about it. Yeah.

So when it came, I wasn’t sure what to expect. But, I thoroughly enjoyed it! And when my paperback came, I was shocked at how big it was, because I had read the ebook so fast, I didn’t realize that it was 450+ pages!!

Anyways, I loved this book and am so excited for the next book! Even though it doesn’t include Clara and Andrew. 😦

There were times that Clara annoyed me. For most of the whole part, actually. Then, I realized that my personality seemed pretty similar to Clara’s, or, at least in that situation. And that if I was in the situation that Clara was in, I’d act the same. After that, I enjoyed her a whole lot more. 😉

Also, I’m not one for romance-y books, and this one had a little. But I was pleasantly surprised at how Kendra handled that! Like, I really liked it!!

And there were so many WP/FP moments that I’m sure all of us readers LOVED, but the two didn’t. 😛 So, yeah. Actually, one of my favorite parts is a WP/FP moment.

Writing/Plot:

While Kendra’s style of writing isn’t my favorite, it is still really good! It flows well and stuff, it’s just that it’s pretty different from my own, so, yep. So don’t worry, she’s a great writer!! It just took me a bit to get use to.

And the plot was awesome! And though there were a couple slower parts, it kept me enthralled and it was pretty fast paced in the later parts.

Characters:

Above, I already said what I thought about Clara. Now, for our other MC. Oh, dear Andrew. He is just the sweetest! Can I just say that I want him? I mean seriously. I just loved him! 🙂

Jasmine? The child is brilliant! Like, she was one of my favorites! She’s quite the chatterbox, but that just makes her more likable. 😀

And Karlos. The dear child. He might be my favorite, well, other then Laura. 😉 What can I say about him? He is just a cute little kid who somehow puts Andrew back in his place as FP.

Then lastly, Laura. Though there wasn’t much of her, but I really enjoyed her. Her life is so complicated, and we only get a glimpse of it. But, it’s really, really hard to not love her. ❤

Problems:

Well, as already mentioned, there were a couple slower parts, but they didn’t last long.

It wasn’t exactly ‘my style’ of writing, so the beginning few chapters it bothered me. Basically, she phrased things differently then I do. But, I quickly got use to it.

And as mentioned above, I’m not usually one for romance, but I was pretty happy with how Kendra handled it.

And that’s basically it!

Other/Summary:

So in summary, this book is now one of my favorites! And I’d definitely recommend this to teenagers, and those older and younger! And after countless asking from Trevor, I’m currently reading this to him! 🙂

Four Stars ∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


Sorry about the two days delay! But this review was worth it! Right? Right?? Now you all have better go and read this now! And if you already have, tell me what you thought! Also, this is the last day of Rizkaland week (I think?), but you can check out all the cool posts here.

2 thoughts on “Is Diving Dangerous?

  1. I’ve heard about this one from Kendra’s blog but never actually read a review, so woot! This was super intriguing. ;D I’ve never actually considered that the characters I get annoyed at might be because I’m similar to them. XD I’m totally going to keep my eye out for that from now on, hehe, and yay that it was an overall good book for you!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

