Dragon Tears

Hey everyone! Sorry for the late post, but I’ve been reading Percy Jackson to my younger brother for all the non-school hours. 😉

Anyways, today I’m reviewing Tears of a Dragon the fourth, and last, book in the DioM series by Bryan Davis.

(You can find my review for the first the three books by using the search thingy on the side of my blog –>)


 

51kJ3CNtcRL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg   Victory in the Circles of Seven came at a great cost to Billy Bannister and Bonnie Silver. A vicious evil was unleashed on the earth that only the dragons can defeat. With Billy’s father, the great Clefspeare, missing, Billy and Bonnie must lead the dragons into war against the Watchers—demonic beings as old as the earth itself. Masters at the art of deception, the Watchers use the deadliest of weapons against mankind. A remnant of wise humans, the friends of the dragons, unite in the struggle against the Watchers. With heart-stopping action, the final battle between dragons and their enemies comes to a climax. But in order to win the war, at least one of the dragons must die.
    As the story ends, Billy and Bonnie are faced with the greatest decision of their lives. Will they keep the dragon traits that have cost them so much danger and heartache, or will they turn to normal human life and end the slayers’ lust for their blood forever.

~From Goodreads


 

What I thought:

Doesn’t that sound exciting? And the cover?? Oh, kill me now!! (uh, not literally! I’ve still got to many TBRs!!)

Anywho, I LOVED this book!! And actually, it’s tied with Circles of Seven for being my favorite DioM book. It’s that good!!

So, this one is a bit darker then the books prior. Like, it’s not dark, but yet it is. Does that make sense? Meaning I’d still let Trevor read it (which he *gasps* hasn’t finished the third book since he got into Harry Potter!!). But I kinda like it with the ‘darker’ feel to it.

And, as from the title, there are dragon tears (ohmygoodness! ohmygoodness! ohmygoodness!), but I think that there were more of my tears. Yep. I. Cried. IT WAS SO SAD!! BUT SO GOOD!!! WHY MUST BRYAN DAVIS TORTURE MY EMOTIONS SO?!

Ahem. Anyways, yes. I loved this. It was sad. But that’s mostly just a HUGE fangirl wail. Now I’ll give you an actual review. 😉

(Also just a hint, What I Thought tends to be fangirling over book awesomeness 😀 )

Characters:

Oh the characters! Why???!!!

But, yes. I loved Shiloh. She. Is. Just. Awesome. And Billy and Bonnie? They’re always great! And then you have Professor Hamilton. And my personal favorite, Walter Foley. 🙂

There’s not a whole lot I can say about the characters without SPOILERS, but they are completely and amazingly awesome! And they scare me half to death ALL THE TIME!!

Plot/Writing:

This had a great plot! Maybe a little slow at times, but overall it was fast paced and kept me quite engaged and never wanting to put it down!

And I adore Bryan Davis’s writing! And while it improves a decent bit more in his later books, it’s still amazing in his early on novels. ❤

Problems:

As above, there maybe were one or two slow parts, but not much!

And IT MADE ME CRY!! WHY?!

Also be warned, it has a cliff-hangery ending! Well, not like life/death situation, but still!!

Other/Summary:

Anyways, yes. There’s some darker stuff, and *sniffs* some deaths/injuries, tough decisions, nervewracking chapters, fighting! All the good stuff (and sad stuff…)!

But there’s nothing bad enough for me to not want Trev to read it! And I’d once again, HIGHLY recommend this series to Christian fantasy lovers, pre-teens, YA, adults, (none of the above people). EVERYBODY! Seriously, I don’t know how I lived without these amazing friends!!

Five Stars ∗∗∗∗∗

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1955441.Betrayed?ac=1&from_search=1


You can find the author’s website/blog here (check it out, really!!). He has plenty of AMAZING writing tips! So if you’re an author/love to write, definitely check it out!

 

 

Leave a Reply

