A Murder in Guatemala

Hey everyone! I’m here reviewing the book Betrayed by Jeanette Windle.


This action-packed international thriller brings readers to Guatemala, where anthropologist Vicki Andrews discovers that her sister has been murdered. Guatemalan authorities dismiss her death as another of the country’s frequent muggings or a kidnap-for-ransom, but Vicki refuses to accept their verdict. Vicki launches her own investigation and uncovers corruption buried so deep that crossing international lines may cost Vicki her life.

~From Goodreads


What I thought:

First off, I love the cover! I love the greenness of the cover. (and the fact that SOMEONE IS FALLING FROM A HELICOPTER!!) Ahem. Anyways, I was going through the huge collection of Kindle books my mom and sister have collected, and thought: Murder? Christian? Someone on the cover falling out of a helicopter into a jungle?! So of course I began to read it. 🙂

Anyways, this book was pretty good. After my initial reaction to the book (yeah…) I wasn’t sure how I’d like it, because it was a Christian Missionary book (which I don’t read a lot of), but it was pretty good! Different from what I was expecting, but good nonetheless!

And I was sooo happy at the end, because two things I ‘called’ came to pass, and it was such a satisfactory moment. 😛

I was also really happy, because Jeanette Windle knew her stuff and that definitely shone through in her work.

Plot:

This had a great plot! There was a big goal, but tons of little things were woven in, each contributing to the master plot in the end. Everything lined up, and it was cool to see everything falling into place!

Characters:

I liked Holly. She and Vicki reminded me a lot of the relationship between me and my sister, with a  few things switched. 🙂

Also, I really liked Caesar. He’s just great. Same for Bill, though I didn’t like him quite as much. 🙂

And Joe? The whole time (I dunno why) I was routing for him and Vicki to get together. 😉

And Michael. Oh, Micheal. I hated him from the first moment I ‘met’ him. He’s just too perfect. Too. Perfect.

Problems:

I didn’t have a whole lot of problems with this. Jeanette definitely did her research. 🙂

But it kinda bothers me when authors go for a ‘mysterious’ kind of thing by just using he and she and the like instead of using names. Jeanette did that at the beginning (though may I say, I guessed who all three kids were 🙂  ), and in small sections throughout the book (again, guessed it!). It gets a little confusing.

Other:

This is book was written with YA and adults in mind, so that’s obviously where the interest level lies.

There is mention (and shown, though not in a gory way) of two villages being massacred. There is also drugs, though no one actually uses any. And there is talk of all the Guatemalan crime and animal smuggling.

Overall, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book! If you like missionary/mystery kinda books, I’d definitely recommend this!

Four Stars ∗∗∗∗


How about you guys? Have you read this? What’d you think? Do you like Missionary Mystery books? Tell me in the comments!!

2 thoughts on “A Murder in Guatemala

  1. Omg I ADORE that cover!! So intriguing and awesome and greeeeen (and that falling person, omg instant intrigue!!) I hadn’t heard of this one before, but it looks like a book to watch out for. 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

