Injured in a Blizzard

Hey all of you followers! (and non followers too! 😛 ) I’m back to review the awesome book Dare (bk 1 in The Blades of Acktar series) by Tricia Mingerink!! Yay!


Courage could cost him everything.

Third Blade Leith Torren never questions his orders or his loyalty to King Respen until an arrow wound and a prairie blizzard drive him to the doorstep of the girls whose family he once destroyed.

Their forbidden faith and ties to the Resistance could devastate their family a second time.

Survival depends on obedience, but freedom beckons. How far does he dare go to resist the king and his Blades?

No matter what Leith chooses, one thing is certain.

Someone will die.


What I thought:

OHMYGOODNESS! OHMYGOODNESS! OHMYGOODNESS!!

Uh, ahem. Excuse that. Now I assume that at least some of you would like an at least half intelligible review. 😉

In case you couldn’t tell, I loved this book! It. Was. Amazing. Seriously, you all need to read this now! Like, right now!

Well, this was a great book! Beautifully written and it had me drawn in from the first sentence!

Tricia did an extraordinary job with how she presented faith, and how she had Leith slowly come to. I loved to read about it. 🙂

Characters:

Ooh! So many good ones!!

Well, I liked Brandi. She’s my age, she’s funny, she just blurts things out, and she … almost said a SPOILER right there! 😉

And Leith. Three words: he is great. I mean seriously, Leith is such an amazing character! I really loved him! And I could say so much more, but alas! it treads into SPOILER territory. But trust me, his is great.

And Renna. She is pretty awesome too! I actually enjoyed how she was so skeptical of Leith, it gave it so much more of  a real feeling, which I enjoyed. And I can’t say too much more ’cause of SPOILERS, but Renna Faythe is amazing as well. 🙂

Oh! So many more characters (well, not so many), and I love them all! Even Dare (hehe) I say it, I liked King Respen and First Blade Vane?

Plot:

The. Plot. Was. Awesome. I want to say stuff, but pesky SPOILERS! But I will say this, UNDERCOVER. Now I’ll say no more. 😀

Problems:

I didn’t really have any problems with this. The only one might be that Brandi was naive and always happy and such, but I do know a girl who’s like that. So, yeah.

Other:

So in summary, I LOVED this book and I’d definitely recommend this book!

ANYWHO, I’d let Trevor read this book. Sure there’s a few knife inflicted wounds, but he’s use to reading that kinda stuff. But if you’re squeamish at knife wounds, this may not be the book for you (though they aren’t too bad.I’m not one for knife wounds, but this didn’t bother me that much).

Though I’d recommend this book to most teens, YA, and even adults. It’s a great Christian book!!

You did an amazing job, Tricia!!

Five stars ∗∗∗∗∗


You can find Tricia Mingerink’s blog/website here. And her book is also on there as well.

In other news, on November 30 of 2015 Deny (bk 2) is coming out!! And I’m part of the launch  team!! Yay!

You can pre-order Deny (which I’d definitely recommend doing!!) here. And with Christmas just next month, Dare and Deny would make a great addition to your list! 😉


Have any of you read Dare? If you haven’t, would you like to? And do any of you have books on your Christmas list (if you still have lists 🙂 )?

9 thoughts on “Injured in a Blizzard

  1. Pingback: They’re back!! | readinganyone

  2. Pingback: Interview of Amazingness (blog tour AND giveaway) | writinganyone

  3. I really have to read this now!! I’m on the prowl for good Christian fantasy but I have a hard time finding a lot. :T

    I turned my younger sister loose on my Goodreads TBR list today so she could see what books to get me for Christmas. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should definitely read this!! It’s an awesome Christian fantasy book! And if you do, I hope you enjoy it!! 😄

      And that’s what I need to do with my sister. We always have a hard time knowing what to get for each other. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Deny Blog Tour Book Review of Awesomeness (and giveaway!!) | writinganyone

Leave a Reply

