Reapers

So today I’m doing Reapers (bk 1 in the Reapers Trilogy) by Bryan Davis. 🙂


Reapers, the first book in The Reapers Trilogy, is a dystopian tale with a supernatural twist. Taking place in a futuristic, urban setting, this first book in a planned trilogy will appeal to readers of The Hunger Games and similar fast-paced stories for young adults.
Along with a blend of real life and imagination, it delivers action, danger, and suspense through the adventures of three teenagers: Phoenix, Singapore, and Shanghai, Reapers who collect the souls of the dying or already dead and transport them to the Gateway where they will travel to their final destination … or so they are told.

~ Summary from Goodreads


What I thought:

I loved this book. Because of Reapers, I now love the genre dytopian. I wasn’t sure I’d like it since I’m not usually one for supernatural books (reapers, zombies, vampires, and the like, but there have been some great exceptions), but I didn’t mind it at all in this book!

Anyways, Bryan Davis is my all time favorite author. I’ve loved every book of his, and this was no exception.

This book was great and well written. I was captivated from the start, and I loved it all throughout. It had an interesting concept that was great!

I’ve only read Bryan Davis write in third-person, so when I began and found out that this was in the first-person, I was surprised and impressed at how well he wrote the story.

Characters:

I loved Phoenix. And Mex. And Noah (who’s name is changed later).

I think my favorite was Mex. I can’t quite place what I like about him, but I just did.

I did like Shanghai and Singapore (man, aren’t these all great names??), but they’re two girls with a nice, cute boy living right next to them… So you get the idea. 😉

Plot:

This book had a great plot! I was instantly drawn into the book, not wanting to put it down.

I loved the idea that the reapers, those who take souls to their final resting place (ish), are actually trying to find out where exactly those dead souls go, not just dumping them carelessly aside. Gives a little feeling to the stereotypical reaper.

Problems:

I didn’t really have any problems with this book. No writing errors or plot holes or anything like that. 🙂

Other:

While this was a great book, I’m not sure I would let Trevor read this yet. There’s nothing inappropriate or anything, just I don’t know about interest level and understanding and the sort.

I would definitely recommend this book to some pre-teens (as said above, interest and understanding level), teenagers, and adults!

Great job Bryan Davis!!

5/5 stars ∗∗∗∗∗


Find Bryan Davis’s blog here. Check it out to find info on him, his books, and his tips on writing. 🙂


Have you read this book? Or books by this author? What did you think?? Tell me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Reapers

Leave a Reply

