The Ankulen

Today I’m doing The Ankulen by Kendra E. Ardnek. Hope you enjoy my review!! (and of course the book if you get it/have read it.)


Fifteen-year-old Jen can’t remember her imagination. She knows she had one once, though, and honestly, she’d like it back. It’s been eight years. One day she finds a young boy who claims to be one of her imaginary friends and that her imaginary world is being eaten by a hydra-like monster called the Polystoikhedron. He helps her find the Ankulen, a special bracelet that had given the ability to bring her imagination to life and together they embark on a quest to find friendship, healing, and perhaps even some family.

~From Goodreads


What I thought:

I really enjoyed this book! It took me awhile to read because I started it, but then had to read other books before I was able to come back to The Ankulen. After I was able to read it, I read it fast!

Anyways, it was great! It really fit that the book was written in a first-person POV. But it kinda had to be since- Hey! You’re not getting a spoiler from me!! ;P

At first the book didn’t seem like a Christian one, but later it really shows through and has a great Christian message.

I loved Jen’s imagination. And while I’m not one for bright colors and glitter, her world was very enjoyable!

Characters:

I loved most of the characters, and there were a few that I only liked.

I loved Sir Christofer and Derek. Actually, Derek was my favorite. We have very similar personalities for the situation. 🙂

The characters all (main) developed pretty well and grew in there faith.

Also (though this doesn’t exactly fit here), homeschoolers rock! And (I guess… 😛 ) you other people too.

Plot:

I really enjoyed the plot. I mean really? How could you not like a book about going inside your (well, someone else’s) imagination??

I also liked how after she- oops! SPOILER (not really! as I said, you’re not getting one from me!!), and it seemed like the end, she still had to face the Polystoikhedron (you want to find out what it is? you’ll have to read it!!).

The book had a really good plot and I loved the ending. 🙂

Problems:

Well, it did have some grammar/spelling errors. And (in my opinion) it had a slow start, but it really picked up later!

Other:

This was a great, Christian book. There’s nothing bad in it, so it’d be okay for younger children to read (though they may not get/enjoy it). And I’ll definitely be trying (and succeeding!) to get Trevor to read this! 😀

Great job, Kendra!!

I give this two stars ∗∗∗∗

3 thoughts on “The Ankulen

Add yours

  1. Sounds awesome! Great review! Going on my reading list… 😉
    Simi
    P.S. I finished Creighton Hill last week! I’ll be reviewing it after Narnia. Now I get why you were so shocked at Chapter 14!
    P.P.S. Have you heard of a Series of Unfortunate Events? They are SO AMAZING and you should totally read them and review them on here.
    P.P.P.S. This year I’ve started going to a Creative Writing Club and we’re doing a writing competition organised by Oxford University! I thought you’d be interested in entering. I’m pretty sure you can do it if you live in the US and it’s free to enter. Here’s a link:
    http://torch.ox.ac.uk/dodocompetition
    P.P.P.P.S. Sorry for all the P.S.s 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

