Truth

I’m trying to post reviews on Tuesdays, but I just finished this book and I really wanted to share it with all you lovely people. 🙂

So today I’m doing Truth, bk 1 in the Makilien Trilogy by Molly Evangeline.


Trapped in a village no one is allowed to leave, Makilien yearns for the answers to her questions about life and the world outside the village walls. Yet no one but her closest friend seems to understand or share her desire. Despite her family’s fears and warnings of the consequences, she is determined to find answers.

The unexpected arrival of a stranger, and the knowledge he possesses, drives Makilien to drastic action. Confronted with a world she knows nothing about, she must choose carefully who to trust as both good and evil lurk in all places. As a battle looms, one in which will be determined the fate of all, she must decide whether to believe in the One who is truth or fall prey to the lies of the enemy

~ From Goodreads


What I thought:

Again, starting off with the cover. I really like this one. It’s nice and simple, yet not too simple. Also, it has a very fitting title. 🙂

Anyways, I loved this book! Molly did an awesome job writing this! It has a definite Middle-Earth feel to it, but yet it’s very different.

It did bother me a little that who’s POV switched a bit throughout the book, but I got use to it. I just wasn’t use to that style of writing.

Another thing I like, is that when there was fighting, Molly wasn’t super descriptive, yet she wasn’t totally a vague. A happy medium (maybe not happy since there’s fighting… 🙂 ).

This book was a great Christian book! I loved how Makilien didn’t jump straight into believing in Elohim (God), but was hesitant and wanted to learn more. It gave it a much more real feel.

Characters:

I loved lots of characters! I also loved many of their names! Makilien, Halandor, Sirion, to name a few!

It did slightly bother me that almost all of the characters were really friendly, but it’s another world! And I quickly got use to it!!

I love all the characters, but especially Sirion, Elandir, and Elmorhirian. Sirion becuase he was sweet and I just liked him. And I liked Elandir and Elmorhirian becuase they both acted a lot like me and my friend, and I like those kind of characters. 🙂

Plot:

I really liked the plot of this book. Actually, the beginning chapter was remarkably similar to a story idea I had a couple years ago, but Molly’s is a lot better. 😀

I also liked how Makilien believing in Elohim was a big part of the plot.

The plot was interesting and Molly did an awesome job with it!

Problems:

I think I mentioned the problems I had with Truth above, but I’ll just quickly touch down on them.

It kinda bothered me how it would change POV for a few sentences, then go back to Makilien, but I quickly grew use to it.

Another thing was that everyone who was on the “good side” seemed unrealistically nice, but I overlooked that, after all, elves have to be nice, don’t they?

That’s basically it. I didn’t have a whole bunch of problems with this book.

Other:

I would definitely let my ten year old brother read it (I judge a lot of books by if he could read it…). The violence isn’t to bad, and there isn’t anything inappropriate. And Truth has a good message in it.

Overall, I loved this book and it’s now one of my favorites. Great job Molly!!!

I give it three stars ∗∗∗∗

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

