Creighton Hill

So, if you guys didn’t get it from the title, I’ll be reviewing Creighton Hill, bk 1 in the Time Captives trilogy by Morgan Elizabeth Huneke.


 

“No one can mysteriously disappear leaving no trace. It isn’t realistic.”

“You’re right, Emily,” her grandfather said thoughtfully. “It isn’t realistic. However, a good many things happen in this world that are not realistic, things supernatural.”

Emily, Allan, Jill, Joey, and Anna have grown up on their grandfather’s tales of ancestors who mysteriously disappeared from Creighton Hill, the plantation home that has been in their family for centuries. When Grampa’s death forces them to move into Creighton Hill, the truth about the supposed disappearances is the first thing on their minds. Allan, Jill, Joey, and Anna’s, that is. As for Emily, why must they keep at their supernatural hogwash?

Could it be that their family really does just have an unusual history of early deaths? Most people seem to think so. But Grampa’s research has uncovered something different.

When mysterious writing matching descriptions found in ancient accounts begins appearing to the children, they know something’s up. They must find out what really happened to their ancestors, and work together to discover the reason behind the mysterious writings.

Creighton Hill is the first book of the Time Captives trilogy, a tale of faith, family, fantasy, and a fight for truth and freedom.

~From Goodreads


What I thought:

I’m gonna start off with (like I always do) the cover! Don’t you guys love this cover? I do. I would LOVE to live at Creighton Hill (along with my three brothers who said that they’re gonna live with me…), with the exception of the disappearances.

Anyways, moving on!

I loved this book! It was a really nice book that revolves around siblings, some nicer and some… not as nice. It’s Christian and fantasy. It has a Narnia feel, but not too similar. 🙂

Before I go on, I’m gonna share one of my favorite parts of the book:

He barely heard his sister’s warning. A wall suddenly appeared in front of him, a little too close. Against his face. With a smack. “Ouch,” he mumbled.

~ Joey

Chapter 3, Creighton Hill, Morgan Elizabeth Huneke

I just had to say that. My favorite parts tend to be little parts like this. Look forwards to it in chapter three. 😀

I also loved how Morgan switched between current (well, 2000) and previous times with different characters. It gave you much more information without making it boring.

And chapter fourteen! I was not expecting that to happen! Wow. If you want to know about this chapter, you should read this book! 😛

Anywho, this was a great book. Morgan did an excellent job writing it!

Characters:

I loved all the characters, even the bad ones (with the exception of the king).

And I will say it, I’m a combination of Emily and Joey. If you haven’t read the book, read and you’ll understand.

My favorite character was George. But Joey came a close second. All the characters were amazing in their own ways. ❤

Plot:

I liked the plot. Time captives, strytes, and an angered queen? Yeah! There wasn’t any parts where I felt bored or where it dragged on. It kept you wanting more and it was pretty awesome!

Problems:

As I mentioned above, it switched who’s POV you were in, and I liked it, but sometimes it was a little confusing. And there were a couple of errors.

Nothing to bad. 🙂

Other:

This was a really good book. Definitely one I’d be fine with letting my siblings read (I mean, this is a middle grade book). When there’s violence, it’s not to descriptive, yet it keeps it interesting. Now I need to make my brother read this. *laughs evilly*

Great job, Morgan! It was amazing!!

I give it three stars ****


Have you read this book? What did you think? If you haven’t, you might want to check it out! You can find it here.

Also check out Morgan’s blog here for more information on her books, and other cool stuff. 😀

P.S. The Crossways, bk 2 in the Time Captives, is going to be released October 19th, so keep an eye out for that!

2 thoughts on “Creighton Hill

  1. Pingback: Christian Books | Girls Living For God's Glory

  2. Pingback: The Crossways + Giveaway! | writinganyone

Leave a Reply

