A Dream Not Imagined

I have to admit, A Dream Not Imagined has been sitting on my shelf for quite a bit. But, after my weekend camping and meeting with fellow crazy people (aka, MEN fair attendees), I can say that I read it.

Without further ado, A Dream Not Imagined by the lovely Shantelle Mary Hannu!!


A Maid, a Prince, and a Duke. A Gardener, a Stepmother, and a secret…

Ellie Abbington, a beautiful yet unassuming young woman, quietly longs for her life to change. Too privileged to associate with the servants—too underprivileged to associate with her own family; she dreams a dream of a prince and a happily ever after.

But it could be that her own stepsisters, conniving Dezmarie and easily-influenced Adelaide, are dreaming the same dream…of the same prince.

In the end, are dreams even all they’re made out to be? Especially with deep and long-hidden secrets about to be unearthed?

A Dream Not Imagined is a non-magical fairytale novella based loosely on the classic tale of Cinderella.

~ From the Back of the book


What I thought:

Wow. Just, wow. Shantelle did an AMAZING job!

Also, isn’t the cover amazing? Shantelle’s sister, Natasha, drew Ellie. It’s beautiful!!

Okay, so I followed Shantelle’s blog and was friends with her on Goodreads, but *hangs head* had never read one of her books. Well, I got to beta read a book (which was awesome!), and since I liked it, I wanted to get her published book. When I convinced my Mom to let me buy it, I anxiously waited for it to come. When it did, I was in the process of reading another book. Then I went to Pennsylvania (a four hour long drive!) and finally read it.

Okay, so if my paragraph above didn’t scare you off, I’m glad you stayed! Now you can read my review of this awesome novella!!

I read this book in one sitting, not stopping for anything. I was smiling throughout the whole book, and at one point, I was gasping (since I was on a car trip, my sister must have thought me crazy when I was smiling ridiculously!).

This book was so different form the original and retellings of Cinderella, yet it was still definitely based off of Cinderella. Shantelle did an amazing job!

I’m not usually one for reading romance, but I loved it so much in this. And I was quite happy how the romance played out in this book. 🙂

I loved the whole story; the characters, the setting, the theme, the plot, it all!

Characters:

I loved all the characters, save one. Well, I didn’t exactly not like him, but yeah. The prince was what you think when you think of the word prince.

I actually liked the step-mother. She had a reason (as weird as it was) to be doing what she did. Though, no sane person would ever think to do what she did.

I also really liked Adelaide. She was still mean to Ellie, but she wasn’t as mean as Dezmarie. I’m not exactly sure why I liked her, but I really did.

I also loved Rowen. He’s. Just. Awesome. Loved him! I wish he were real and Ellie (I know, I know, this is pretty mean…) wasn’t.

Problems:

I didn’t really have any problems with this book. I mean sure, every book has a few mistakes, but there wasn’t anything that really bothered me. I guess I was able to predict the final twist, but that was fine. It just made me feel pretty smart that I figured it out. 😀

Other:

I would be fine with my ten year old brother reading this (for some odd reason, he likes fairy tale retellings…), but I think pre-teen/teenagers would enjoy it more.

Great job Shantelle!! You did an awesome job and I can’t wait to read more of your work!! ❤

I give it four stars ****

6 thoughts on “A Dream Not Imagined

Leave a Reply

