Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

So today I’m doing Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (obviously, from the title) by J.R.R. Tolkien. I do have to say it took my a long time to read because I stopped it for awhile to read the first two books in The Giver Quartet. But anyways, onto the review!!

Frodo Baggins knew the Ringwraiths were searching for him—and the Ring of Power he bore that would enable Sauron to destroy all that was good in Middle-earth. Now it was up to Frodo and his faithful servant Sam to carry the Ring to where it could be destroyed—in the very center of Sauron’s dark kingdom.

~ Summary by Goodreads

What I thought of it:

I will admit, I watched the movie first, so I had expectations as to what the book would be like. I was actually surprised that the book was somewhat similar to the movie, especially the characters.

I had pushed off reading this book for a long while. Once, I even starting reading it but didn’t get past the first chapter. But, I was pretty glad that I read it and can’t wait to finish the rest of the series.

It took me awhile to get into it, but more on that below.

Characters:

I was pretty surprised that the characters were pretty close to the movie’s characters.

In the movies (sorry I keep comparing the two!) I loved Samwise Gamgee; the book was no different.

I loved Sam. I’m not sure what I love him, but I love him a lot. I also like Gandalf. A mysterious wizard that comes and goes from the book? What’s better then that? I also really loved Strider/Aragorn/whatever other name he goes by. He’s mysterious, doesn’t talk over people or is rude, always seems to know what to do even if he doesn’t know it. And Tom Bombadil. Tom? He’s just awesome. I laughed at him. A lot.

Overall, I liked the characters. The characters all developed pretty well over the course of this book, and you got to know them pretty well.

Problems:

Well, this book was written in 1954, so the whole time was different. Apparently in ’54 they had a completely different style of writing (who woulda thought?), so that made the book a little more complicated to read. And Tolkien does a lot of description and barely any dialect until the last few chapters.

It took me a long while to actually get into the book. At first, it’s slow and there’s a lot of dialect, then it gets kinda interesting with little to no dialect. It goes up and down until the last few chapters where it levels out and becomes much more interesting.

Other:

Do realize though that this was 65 years ago, so the whole writing style is different. But, I would recommend this book.

I wouldn’t have any qualms about letting my younger brother (ten, though he doesn’t act like it) read this, though the younger you go the harder it will be for them to understand/be engaged with the book (attention wise, not with a ring and all. haha, I’m cracking myself up 🙂 )

I give it four stars ****

P.S. I’m gonna try to work out a post schedule… but I’m not very organized. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Add yours

    1. That’s great! I don’t read many classics (though I do like them 🙂 ), so I wasn’t quite use to the writing, but I enjoyed seeing how much writing has changed. The reason that I put the writing thing down, was because my sister wasn’t all gung ho about reading them because of the writing style.
      I’m glad you enjoyed them!
      We have the trilogy books (with the exception of bk 2, a dog we use to have chewed it up) and I was really wanting to read them, but we’re trying to sell our house so my mom packed up all our books, including LorRs. I had to get them from the library. Sorry, I ramble a lot. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

