Raising Dragons

So starting us off, I’m gonna write a review for Raising Dragons (bk. 1 in the Dragons in out Midst series) by Bryan Davis.



A boy learns of his dragon past; a girl has known hers for years. They combine their faith, courage, and love to overcome an evil slayer who seeks to bring an end to dragon heritage, forever.

The kids at school call Billy “Dragon Breath” for good reason. His breath is bad! It isn’t the normal, morning-mouth bad; it’s the hot-as-fire, “don’t-you-dare-get-near-me” bad. Trouble erupts when his hot breath sets off the fire sprinklers in the boys’ restroom in school, and his parents learn that they’ve kept their secret for too long.

Billy finally discovers the secret. His father was once a dragon! Now that’s a piece of news a guy doesn’t deal with every day! Billy feels betrayed, alien, lost. When the dragon slayer traps him on a cold mountaintop in West Virginia, Billy learns to battle with weapons of steel and spirit while relying on a power he doesn’t understand, a power that helps him learn to trust again.

Bonnie, an orphan, tries to find a home, someone to love her, even though she feels like a freak because of a body feature that she calls a deformity. But this unusual feature becomes a life-saving attribute as she discovers that her love for others and her faith in a creator hold the answers she’s looking for.

From Goodreads


What I thought of it:

As I said above, Raising Dragons is the awesome first book to the Dragons in our Midst series by Bryan Davis (here’s his blog, he’s really nice and responds to comments and emails pretty fast). It is a Christian fantasy with some medieval times (mostly later in the series) and I happen to love all those genres.

Anyways, onto the review! I love all of this book. After reading this, I kept hoping that at least one of my parents was a dragon, but that hasn’t happened… Yet. I’d love to list all my favorite parts, but it would be way to long and full of tons of spoilers.

Bryan Davis is an awesome author. He did an amazing job writing this. There wasn’t a moment where I’d rather be reading something else, and I kept being surprised by many things. Oh! I’d love to tell all of it, but SPOILERS (in the word of my dear friend RiverSong).

Characters:

I have to say that Walter is my favorite by far (I always tend to like the comedy relief characters), but I love all the others too. Jared is also pretty awesome for many reasons you have yet to find out; Bonnie is nice and strong in her faith without being to ‘christiany’ or naive; Billy is well, he’s pretty cool. He’s the main character that knows nothing about his heritage which makes him relatable.

Overall, the characters where pretty relatable and realistic (well, realistic with dragons). The characters were pretty well developed and all.

Problems:

There isn’t really much wrong. I guess if you read his later work and then go back and read this, you’ll see that his writing has improved since 2004 (which is good), but other then that I didn’t find any issues.

Other:

This is my one of my favorite books and I hope you’ll read it or any other work of his. I read it when I was ten, and so did my brother. I think it’s fine for that age or maybe a little older, as long they don’t mind some mild fighting. My mom read this book and really enjoyed it, so it doesn’t really have an age limit.

Four Stars ****

Great job Bryan Davis!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

